BLT II Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very salty -- too much bacon. Taste was ok at first, but next day it was to salty. Took a lot of time to make all that bacon. I would have tried the bacon-bit trick next time. The mixture didn't make an attractive presentation. Made for a big super bowl party and only 2 people tried it and they didn't come back for 2nd dips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BklynGil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Corea, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was great, just like blt! I cut the recipe to serve 16, halved everything, just as written. Will definitely include this in my appetizer choices. I may try fire roasted tomatoes next time as someone else suggested. However, this is great just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I usually take new recipes to work to get honest critiques from my co-workers. After reading reviews from this recipe and the BLT dip alson on this site, I became a little hesitant. But, I used this recipe, using 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes that I drained and pureed in my food processor; also added 1/2 packet of dry ranch dressing. I heated packaged bacon bits and mixed all together. Refrigerated over night. Here's where I think the secret lies: I spread the dip on a plate, put shredded lettuce around the edge, additional bacon bits in the center with 1 finely dice fresh tomato (drained on paper towels overnight). Served this with pita chips. The entire recipe was devoured in short order. Everyone (guys and gals alike) reported this to be delicious and I should put it on my "bring to work" list anytime! Thanks Terri, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
A real crowd pleaser! Makes a lot, but I think it was even better on day 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was just ok. The tomatoes were just too mushy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Everything is perfect about this dip. It's FAST to make, ingredients are staples in most households and is INSANELY delicious! Do want to emphasize that you should drain the tomatoes before combining with other ingredients. I will never make less than a double batch as it gets eaten so quickly! Everyone loves it and pretty much anyone I've made it for asks for the recipe! Thanks, Terri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Made 1 serving for kidlet's lunch so she could dip some carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower. I thought it tasted great but will have to see if kidlet liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is really great ~ all the flavor of a BLT sandwich! The paprika & the canned (fire-roasted) tomatoes must be the reason why I rate this "BLT II Dip" higher than the other BLT dip on this recipe site. This surprises me because I do prefer using fresh ingredients over canned, but perhaps the flavor of the tomato was concentrated by using the fire-roasted type. (I partially pureed the tomatoes so that there weren't lots of large diced tomato chunks in the dip.) If you want a thicker dip, maybe add a little non-fat cream cheese, so it won't add more fat to an already VERY fat-laden dip. Do NOT add salt, as the bacon already makes this nicely salted. I used slivered lettuce as more than a garnish: for added color, taste, nutrition, & the "L" in BLT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Seven-Layer Dip I

See how to make this crowd-pleasing seven-layer dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States