BLT Bow Tie Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Wow! I was looking for a pasta salad that wasn't your average boring chicken salad - and this was it! It was just wonderful. A few quick changes I made: use spinach instead of romaine as it lasts much longer with minimal wilt, double the sauce and omit the water. Otherwise follow it to to a tee - you won't be disappointed. Everyone has been asking me for this recipe. Still deciding whether or not I should share it! :-) God Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexdolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I thought that this was a nice twist on the standard pasta salads out there. I didn’t add the chicken and next time I will omit the BBQ sauce as I think the recipe would have been better without it. In addition to the other ingredients, I added a cucumber and low-fat pepper jack cheese cubes. I also used whole wheat pasta. I agree that there is no need to add the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I have made this exact recipe for many YEARS! Perfect for the office potluck, beach picnic, or family gathering. I always get rave reviews on this one. I always make double the dressing. For quicker assembly, use the frozen, pre-cooked chicken breasts. As far as left overs go, this doesn't keep well in the fridge for more than about 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS. MANGIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This turned out delicious! I would not skip the BBQ sauce as others have done, or you won't be getting the true taste of this recipe. This is a perfect recipe for a summer cookout! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I just recently made this salad to accompany a burger & fries dinner and it was a hit!!!! I did make a few changes though... I left out the lettuce [just didnt see the need for it, plus I figured it would wilt and not keep well in the fridge] doubled the bacon and mixed equal parts miracle whip mayo, ranch dressing, and italian dressing for the sauce. As for veggies I kind of just threw in whatever I had on hand [carrots, grape tomatoes, celery,onion & bell pepper] and then seasoned with garlic powder, salt and pepper. Again everybody loved this... even my mother asked for the recipe and she is known for her fantastic cooking!! This was a great base recipe that you can kind of alter to your own tastes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
My only favorite pasta salad. This was a hit with company. I do add some water but not the full amount suggested. Also, you can definitely add more bacon I would probably cook 6 strips next time. No need for the lettuce, your choice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Really good and super easy. My first attempt at making pasta salad. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ultraviolette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was really good, but I'm not sure the water is necessary. It made the dressing very runny. However, the flavors were wonderful. I used chicken/prosciutto tortellini in place of the pasta and otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This is by far, the absolute best recipe. Whether for lunch, picnics, potlucks. I've actually made this recipes for about a decade now. I was really glad to "refind" it again on this site! The dressing is fab on any salad also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Excellent. My husband & I could not stop eating it. I ommitted the lettuce, water & chicken. Added more bacon, great sidedish. Used scallions instead of onions. Loved the barbecue, mayo vinegar mix, very smokey flavor. Also used wheat pasta, as we only use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States