BLOTCHE aka Widow maker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I am the submitter of this recipe. My first recipe submitted & was approved the next day so didn't have time to make corrections. I didn't mean to spread bread with the bacon grease but with the fond or fuzzy drippings which I would pat dry. Save the bacon grease to later fry eggs or potatoes. And yes, pull the grilled part of the sandwich apart between the ham slices to add the lettuce, tomato, fried eggs AND the bacon. Hope you all enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made as written except that I only had plain white bread and I also chose to only butter one side of the bread and leave the bacon grease out of it. LOVED the flavor the green onions made melted with the cheese. The one problem I did have was getting my cheese to melt but that might have been fault to my cheap bread which browned so quick. This is one you wouldn't want to eat on a weekly basis but it sure makes for a nice treat once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Wow the flavors together are awesome! Really great! I never knew green onion and Havarti could taste so yummy. I used Brownberry Country Buttermilk bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Wow - now this is a sandwich! And, just as the submitter states it's a BLT on steroids! My husband loves anything with bacon so I had to make this for him and I'm glad I did. It's rich, meaty, and absolutely delicious. While it's not something you'd make everyday unless you're looking to clog your arteries it's nice to splurge once in a while. I added the bacon at the end and served this with a bunch of napkins... Thanks for a great recipe Hot Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
wow.....this made my hubby a very happy man tonight!! I used pepperjack cheese, (its what i had) on Italian bread (also what I had) it was very very very good! Thanks for the posting! Saves this in the box for sure! * he said to add that it was the best sandwich we ever made* Phenomenal he says! (I rarely get that good of a review for a dinner) lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Awesome! I must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Oh, it was AMAZING, but I like my sandwiches to not require quite so much effort. It was a ton of work for a sandwich. No doubt about it, it was still good, but the name is fitting. We both felt like we were going to go into cardiac arrest after dinner. So good and if it were in a restaurant so I didn't have to prepare it and clean up after, I would order it every time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britstoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
If you want to make someone very happy, prepare this sandwich for them. Absolutely delicious. I used fresh bread from the bakery sliced not too thick and followed the recipe and directions exactly. I added the bacon along with the eggs at the end. You will see smiles when you serve this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This sandwich is decadent and delicious! I didn't have the bread specified, and that was my only regret b/c it didn't come out as crisp as I would've liked. I kept reading the recipe, but I didn't see where you add the actual bacon to the sandwich, so I just added it at the end w/ the lettuce, tomato and egg. The flavor combination is great and the little guy absolutely LOVED it! I will def be making this again (with the right kind of bread, lol)! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States