Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
This was not nearly as difficult as I expected. It was a big help to have the onion machine that my 13 yr.old gave me for X-mas. This was better than the recipes that came w/ the machine. The sauce was delicious, but spicy. I will make this again with Aussie chicken for a dinner worthy of a popular Australian Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
We loved this! I used the batter mixture to make onion rings instead of the blooming onion and then we dipped the rings in the sauce. It was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I have to be honest -- I only made the dip portion, to go with fried shrimp and it was TERRIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
absolutely great - just like the restaurant version but "blooming" the onion was a huge pain -next time I'll just make it in spears or rings - much easier and still as tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Very tasty but not the easiest to make. I don't have the onion cutter so I just made onion peddles. I had a tough time keeping the coating on the onion when frying but they still tasted good! The sauce was perfect, just like the one at the resturant and fairs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I don't get the craving for these often but when I do...look out! This recipe is amazing! It rivals that of Outback or any other steakhouse company that have this on their menus! Since I realized that the "bloom" part is just for show, I took so many other's advice and just made these into onion rings. Hmmmmm good! They were the first to dissapear from our dinner table tonight and I will make these again very soon! Highly recommend! Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I cut the onion into petals to make it easier on myself after seeing some of the other reviews. The sauce was amazing. I have been looking for something like this for a while. That alone is worth the 5 star rating. Thanks....I can't wait to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This was absolutely delicious. It's just as good as the recipe says. The sauce might be too spicy for some kids, however. We served it to ours with a side of BBQ sauce and they liked it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This was an outstanding recipe. It took a while to prepare and proved to be a little tricky but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
This was delicious, but definitely hard to make. The "bloom" is purely for show, if I make this again, I'll just cut up the onion and use this batter and dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States