Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
taste was great, but it wouldn't stay together. more like onion straws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle L. Opitz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This tasted awesome! Seemed kind of labour intensive, but I imagine that with every one you make it will seem less complicated. I used extra hot prepared horseradish because that was all I could find at the supermarket. I made one sweet onion and one spanish onion and they were both equally good. I can definitely respect the price of one of these from the Outback Steakhouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophia à la mode
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as it is written. I did however, double the amount of dry ingredients (as was suggested) and it was just the right amount for my large Texas sweet onion! Thank you "pink" reviewer for your tips on preparing the onion- I couldn't have done it without them! The dipping sauce was not to our liking but it is just an opinion and nothing against the recipe. This was a hit with the mister! I will be adding this blooming onion recipe to my collection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia à la mode

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I literally just made this and had to write a review! GREAT recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!! The only thing I may change about the sauce is use 1/4 c mayo and 1/4 c sour cream, but it's still great as is!!!! I will for sure be making this very often!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I actually want to give 4.5, because I just can't bring myself to give 5. I haven't put my finger on exactly why I don't want to give full marks; as others have said, there is an elusive something "missing". That said, this is very, very good indeed. The sauce is very good, and others have done this with onion rings, so it is worthwhile keeping it! The "blooming" part is quite labour-intensive, and I got it right 3 out of 4 times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was fun to make-and so yummy! Make sure you read other reviews for some great tips on how to cut the onion, make it stay open, etc. Also, make sure your oil is hot enough, otherwise you'll end up with a slightly crispy but mostly soggy onion. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Yummy!!! this sauce was great. I didn't have any oregano, but this still turned out delicious! I only had hot cream-style horseradish so I only used 1 tblsp of that and omitted the cayenne pepper cause hubby doesn't like spicy food. I used this dip with the "Old Fashioned Onion Rings" that is on this site, and that is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This recipe couldn't come to anything closer than the real thing! I don't like to mess with doing the bloomin onion so much unless it's for show but for just the two of us, onion rings are perfect. No more running out for a 30 minute drive when I get that craving! Just wanted some fried veggies, so I tried this recipe with veggies (cauliflower, broccoli, carrots and yellow squash) and I can say that it's just as tasty! Just let them sit after you have coated them for a bit so that the coating sticks while frying. The dipping sauce goes great with those too! Now....I can't get that from The Outback! Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I added 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp chili powder-absolutely delicious!!! my kids went crazy over it! i suggest to double recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cozbey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsburg, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Made just the sauce. YUM! I used 1 1/2 TBS of extra hot horseradish instead of creamy. Perfect. Had this with Old Fashioned Onion rings also from this site. OMG...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States