Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I feel like a rating of 4.5 would better represent my opinion of this recipe. The sauce is excellent and I have made it a few times now, but I think there is something missing; however, until I figure out what it is, I will continue using this recipe! I decided to just make onion rings instead of the actual blooming onion, and they were really great. The seasoning was wonderful! I think I might try to do the whole onion the next time though! I'm just a little scared to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Church

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I didn't know how to make the fancy blooming onion ring trick as mine fell apart when I boiled it. I used it to make onion rings and it was delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Yummy! I did onion petals because I did not think is was worth the time to go thru the steps of a blooming onion, I tried battering just once, did not turn out that great, but on the 2nd batch I did the double batter and those turned out really good, so I recommend that highly. For the dipping sauce, I only used 1 & ½ tablespoons of horseradish sauce and that was plenty for my taste (it was still strong), I also added an extra ½ tablespoon of ketchup after tasting and an additional 1/3 teaspoon paprika for more color. REALLY GOOD STUFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Had a blooming onion maker that I'd never used & I thought I'd give this a try. I followed the instructions in the book that came with it, which included soaking the cut onion in ice water for 30 minutes (makes the petals larger & stronger & helps them to maintain their shape during cooking, at least that's what the book said :), dipped in dry then wet then dry, & fried root side up for 5 seconds, then pushed the root down deeper in the oil & fried for another 5 seconds (it said this allows the petals to expand), allowed it to fry for 3 min then turned the onion over so petals were upright & fried for another 3 minutes. Other than this, I followed the recipe exactly & it came out great....a lot of work, but great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
The stars are just for the sauce alone. It works with so many other fried snacks. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawrence Ortega

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Tastes just like the blooming onion served at Outback's steak house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Wow! My husband loved the dipping sauce and asked for another batch of onion rings to be made because he wanted more sauce. Definately adds a kick to just store bought onion rings. Yummy Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by God's Child
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I did this for my hubby and me for a snack and it turned out really good. I put less horseradish in it bc all I could find was extra hot. next time Im going to just cut it into petals kind of like fries so its easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this for the first time last night. I messed it up because of my poor cutting skills. The onion was crispy, loved the batter, but I still didn't get it coated or cooked into the middle. Again, probably because of my poor cutting skills. Luckily, I bought two vidalas and will try this again soon! I also made the dipping sauce, a big hit. Update. Made petals last night and also soaked onion for 30mins in cold water as suggested. Still forgot to let them rest, but were even better the second time around! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made onion rings out of this recipe and they were awasome! I cut the sauce recipe in half and it was yum yum yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Koons

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States