Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Tastes great! To make it easier I made thin onion rings. Next time I will cut the onion wider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My husband wanted me to make this for his birthday so i made a trial run with it today so i knew how to do it and he loved it! I did add a bit more cayenne pepper to the sauce but other than that it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Shepard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I only made the dipping sauce. I didn't have the cream-style horseradish sauce, so I used the regular stuff that was in my fridge. I tweaked it here and there, adding more horseradish and cayenne pepper. I cut the onion into petals, and used my own dry mix. This sauce was very good. Have to try it again with the cream-style sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The onion ring part of this is fine, but the sauce recipe has got to be wrong. If you use 1/2 cup of mayo, the sauce will taste like mayo, which isn't how the Blooming Onion sauce tastes. I would switch the amounts for the mayo and horseradish--use much more horseradish than mayo, and it should turn out well. To make it spicier, add some more cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I did not like the sauce at all. My boyfriend is a huge fan of the chain restaurant's version and it did not taste at all like that. The onion itself was very good but I will not make the sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
The onion part of this turned out really well. I had an onion cutter sitting the basement so we pulled it out and that worked very well. I did follow other's advice and put it in an ice bath for about a half hour. We used our little fryer to fry onion and I started it root side up and switched it to petal side up about half way through. The only part of the recipe that didn't come out so well was the sauce. Note that this does not call for regular horseradish. I put about a tablespoon of regular horseradish in and it was way too strong for out taste. I tried adding more ketchup to mellow out the flavor and it just ended up tasing like cocktail sauce. I would definitely try making this again, but make sure that you have cream horseradish. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We used this recipe for the sauce only an it did not dissapoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
taste was great, but it wouldn't stay together. more like onion straws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle L. Opitz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This tasted awesome! Seemed kind of labour intensive, but I imagine that with every one you make it will seem less complicated. I used extra hot prepared horseradish because that was all I could find at the supermarket. I made one sweet onion and one spanish onion and they were both equally good. I can definitely respect the price of one of these from the Outback Steakhouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophia à la mode
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as it is written. I did however, double the amount of dry ingredients (as was suggested) and it was just the right amount for my large Texas sweet onion! Thank you "pink" reviewer for your tips on preparing the onion- I couldn't have done it without them! The dipping sauce was not to our liking but it is just an opinion and nothing against the recipe. This was a hit with the mister! I will be adding this blooming onion recipe to my collection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia à la mode

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States