Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
mmmm yum! Been thinking of this for a long time. It's not so hard as it works! Follow the directions, but don't cut off the root! I also did not hollow out the center as I used some very small onions I had on hand which made excellent personal sized blooms! I left out the cayenne pepper to favor the less spicy-oriented in our family. (If you're spice-paranoid, don't worry, this horseradish doesn't kick too much to enjoy, if you like it hotter, up the cayenne!) I made eight of the mini onions by doubling all other elements of the recipe. One sauce recipe would have still been fine, and I probably used a third of all the milkwash I made. Excellent recipe and tasted authentic! A little tip - use your corn-on-the-cob grippers and tongs to keep a hold of them while opening and battering, just remove plastic ones before putting the onion in hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
My husband and I LOVED this! Tasted just like the ones I've had in the many restaurants that serve this tasty appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
The sauce is amazing! My hubby and I made the sauce to serve with our own recipe of fried onion rings, and this sauce is as good as it gets. Do not change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE4242

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
So here's the thing - if a recipe can stand up to being royally screwed up by two teenage girls, it gets a five star rating from me!!! :) This recipe is awesome and I will absolutely use it again and again. We had all the right ingredients, just mixed all together and it STILL worked out fabulous and tasted even better. Very close to my favorite appy at TL steakhouse; definitely close enough to keep me making it over and over again! Thanks for sharing, Jackie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Sauce was AWESOME! Tasted just like the outback grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I only made the sauce. It is perfect -- I could eat it with just a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was an excellent recipe! We made a few minor changes. First, instead of cutting the onion into "petals," we simply cut it into rings. It worked just as well. Second, we didn't double dip the cut onions (so the batter/coating would be a bit lighter). Third, we only used a pinch of cayenne instead of 1.5 tsp (we wanted something not quite so spicy hot) and we omitted the thyme (more by accident than by design). Better than the restaurant version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Yum. I agree with some of the others about the coating. It is delicious but doesn't stick...so next time ill try dredging them twice. Perfect otherwise. Accidentally bought grated horseradish and not creamy horseradish...couldn't tell the difference in taste. Just make sure to mix the sauce ahead of time and let rest in the fridge so the flavors can mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Really good. Followed the directions. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States