Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was delicious! The cutting of the onion was a bit tricky and I don't think I separated the petals enough but the batter was awesome! I did not have mayo or horseradish so I subbed sour cream for the mayo and hot sauce and worcestshire for the horseradish. It tasted just like the restaurant! We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I was looking for a simple recipe for the dipping sauce to use on crab cakes or fried fish and thought of the dipping sauce that is served with the Bloomin Onion. I have not attempted the onion yet but this sauce is great. I did make a few slight changes. I reduced the salt to 1/8t, (1/4 t. was way too salty!)eliminated the black pepper since the cayenne provides plenty of heat, and added 1/2 t. lemon juice. I also used ground oregano as I didn't recall seeing any flakes in the sauce at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
We had recently received a large bag of Vidalia onions, so I was looking for a recipe to use them. This recipe was absolutely wonderful. A couple of the onions I used had a bad spot, so I had to improvise and forgo the "blooming" technique and just go with onion rings. The batter for the onion and the dipping sauce were both amazing! The only change I made to the batter was to use buttermilk instead of sweet milk. Try this - you won't be sorry. If the "blooming" technique seems intimidating, you could always make onion rings! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
great, going to try pedal next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conover, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
The sauce is AWESOME! Just like the Outback Steakhouse type sauce. When making the onion, don't let too much batter drip off before you put it in the flour mixture. I also let it sit in the flour mixture for an hour or more. The batter sticks to the onion better and you have a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is an authentic recipe and produces a Bloomin’ Onion that rivals any restaurant version! The sauce alone is amazing and can be used for so many things! I left the bottom of the onion on and did not remove the core. I use the hard bottom and core to stick a fork into so I have a handle. This helps when dipping the onion in the hot water and in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made it with a small onion just as it says, except I cut it 10 times (2, 2, 6) and fried it for 4 minutes. The onion was a little less than tennis ball sized. As it seems to be said on every websight, the onion was a bit bland, but the sauce was grand. The flavor issue can be fixed with some salt, but Outback definitely has some trick they keep well hidden. Worth making, but man, will it leave a mess if you're not careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack-y-son

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Turned out nice, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This dipping sauce is delicious, I will never buy it in a jar again. And it's so easy! I did replace the ketchup and horseradish with an equal amount of shrimp cocktail sauce, as I didn't have horseradish in the house. No matter, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
tasted great!!!! cut the onion perfect, just couldnt get the breading right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States