Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is so beautiful. This is my new favorite kind of flower... except that we don't have a deep fryer so I just cut my onion into rings and pan fried. Still- the batter is outrageously delicious and yummmm- they are so sweet and crunchy... do you think this would make a good wedding bouquet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thanksalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Yum! This was tasty. I didn't bother making it into a blooming onion. I needed onion rings to top a hamburger recipe. I did the 1 large sweet onion and just sliced it into thin like rings. They have a lot of flavor, but a slight hot kick from the cayenne. So, have a large glass of iced tea nearby! I didn't bother with the sauce, because I didn't have any horseradish. I have made a similar sauce though and it is good, but not neccessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
OMG. So good. So, so, so good. I didn't have cumin so I used a hefty dose of chili powder. This tastes very close to the "real" thing. The sauce isn't fantastic, you can taste the mayo and its quite thick. I added a bunch more horseradish sauce and a tiny bit of lemon juice to loosen it up. Still not like Outback, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This receipe is spot on...for the onion I followed the directions to a tee, no changes what so ever. I have already made this twice this week. My kids love it! I was a little confused on how to cut the onion, looked it up on YouTube and got it right the first attempt. It really is easy to cut once you actually watch it being done. The only change to the sauce I made was 1/4 cup sour cream and a 1/4 cup mayonnaise . The dip was really good. It is missing something that outback has in theirs but still close enough. This will definately become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very good - cutting the onion is difficult and it's a bit of work but it's very good. Will be buying the "Great American Steakhouse Onion Machine" soon and will make this again and again...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This was fantastic. I didn't even bother to make the sauce because I don't use dips or condiments of any kind, so I can't speak to it...but the onion was excellent. I used an apple slicer tool to core and make the petals. So simple, worked like a charm and my onion looked exactly like the kind you'd find in a steak house. The breading was excellent, although I did have a lot of trouble thoroughly breading all of it. I didn't take a photo to post because it wasn't pretty!! It did taste amazing though and with a little more practice and trial and error I'm sure I'll find a technique that works for me to get it breaded correctly. This recipe is great. Will become one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I made this as onion rings. My husband asked for onion rings for his birthday dinner. I have never made onion rings before—never *fried* anything before!. I followed the recipe pretty closely, only substituting sour cream for the mayo (cannot stand mayo) and horseradish for the horseradish sauce. It was a big hit! Will make these again for another party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Just like at the restaurant, Our onion was too big for the fryer so we cut it into sections and we've also made it with rings of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This turned out great! you have got to try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I really loved this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I did not have the time to mess with the blooming technique and instead sliced rings, dipped in the batter and deep fried. They were fantastic as was the dipping sauce, and they disappeared as soon as they hit the plate. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States