Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I did this for my hubby and me for a snack and it turned out really good. I put less horseradish in it bc all I could find was extra hot. next time Im going to just cut it into petals kind of like fries so its easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this for the first time last night. I messed it up because of my poor cutting skills. The onion was crispy, loved the batter, but I still didn't get it coated or cooked into the middle. Again, probably because of my poor cutting skills. Luckily, I bought two vidalas and will try this again soon! I also made the dipping sauce, a big hit. Update. Made petals last night and also soaked onion for 30mins in cold water as suggested. Still forgot to let them rest, but were even better the second time around! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made onion rings out of this recipe and they were awasome! I cut the sauce recipe in half and it was yum yum yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Koons

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I absolutely LOVE onions rings, and this recipe was perfect to my palette! Just like another reviewer noted, I used Krustez pancake mix, not just because of it only needing water but because it does not use corn syrup, and added spices to the batter to my own taste (McCormick Steak Seasoning grinder, chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper). Next time I will be using this to make a blooming onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Awesome! The only suggestions I have are skip the blooming part and just do thin onion rings as it was a bit easier and less messy. Also in the flour mixture, I may cut back on the cayenne just a tad next time. But all in all very close to restaraunt recipes! Now we can eat this at home in front of the tv! yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Webster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Excellent! Our onion fell apart but the taste was out of this world...so good! Very time consuming though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMarie2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I'm only rating the sauce (didn't make the onion). It was fantastic! Made chicken fingers and used as dip. Husband said it was very close to the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
The dipping sauce is outstanding. Although my first ever blooming onion didn't turn out like the pictures on here, I will attempt to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Just like the real thing! Wouldn't change anything and have made many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Didn't make the blooming onion, made onion rings....the dipping sauce was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States