Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I just made this for my husband and I and we both gave it a five! I made it exactly as the recipe is written except I dipped it in boiling water for a couple of minutes and then let it stand in cold water until ready to cook. Thank you for sharing. I've tried making these before but this turned out the best by Farr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
only made the dipping sauce and it was nothing like the sauce at outback...there is an overpowering smell and taste of horse radish. i don't have a better recommendation, except try a recipe without horse radish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
taste was good but the coating got chewy - didn't fry well in oil. Perhaps need to dry out onion more before coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Best blooming onion I have ever had! I will never order this in a steakhouse again. I get requests for this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I thought it was a super great recipe. I cut the onion per your instructions, because my onion was too big for the plastic cutter that I had. Their recipe was very similar to this one. So I used this recipe, added more cayenne pepper and a little garlic powder, soaked it in just a cold ice water bath for 15 minutes. I didn't take out the bottom of the onion, used the plastic core cutter after it was done. The problem I had was getting all the egg and flour in between all the petals. Jackie, what if I mix the egg, milk and flour all together to make a thick batter (or use pancake mix) and dry off the onion and then let it sit in the batter? Have you or anyone tried this approach? I tried so hard some of my petals fell off. Really though it was a great recipe, the crunch was there and the dip was really good, I love horseradish sauce so I added more, to each his own, right? The other recipe, like others in the reviews said sour cream and mayo, will try that next. I love onion blossoms from T.R. and this recipe is really close, but it could be something I did, not your recipe. If I use pancake mix I would put in corn starch to make them crunchier. I'm being too picky, really mine turned out great, taste, crunch, spicy but not every petal was covered, some stuck together. Must be an easier way to get all the petals covered. Will make this recipe again and again. I am really hard to please so thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie L

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Amazingly yummy!! I even substituted a gluten-free flour mix and it was sooooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Great dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The 3 stars is for the dipping sauce. Great sauce will make again for other things maybe some calamari or something. The onion turned out nice, and bloomed (I did the boil method that was suggested). The onion breading to me was not good, and after 10 minutes the onion was still not cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this 10mins ago... it is now gone. LOVED IT!!! Wasn't as hard to prepare as I thought. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I used a apple slicer and corer to cut the onion, I put some butter knives around the onion to not cut all the way through then cut again to get the 16 cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States