Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this 10mins ago... it is now gone. LOVED IT!!! Wasn't as hard to prepare as I thought. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I used a apple slicer and corer to cut the onion, I put some butter knives around the onion to not cut all the way through then cut again to get the 16 cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
superb....delicious....just make it and take delicious tast.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Excellent ... thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I was mainly interested in the sauce. I eat it with my chicken. I am not a big onion fan but I do eat onion rings with the occasionally. Good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Wow! Loved the sauce, but had bought a mix to make the onions. Sauce was perfect with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was delicious! The cutting of the onion was a bit tricky and I don't think I separated the petals enough but the batter was awesome! I did not have mayo or horseradish so I subbed sour cream for the mayo and hot sauce and worcestshire for the horseradish. It tasted just like the restaurant! We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I was looking for a simple recipe for the dipping sauce to use on crab cakes or fried fish and thought of the dipping sauce that is served with the Bloomin Onion. I have not attempted the onion yet but this sauce is great. I did make a few slight changes. I reduced the salt to 1/8t, (1/4 t. was way too salty!)eliminated the black pepper since the cayenne provides plenty of heat, and added 1/2 t. lemon juice. I also used ground oregano as I didn't recall seeing any flakes in the sauce at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
We had recently received a large bag of Vidalia onions, so I was looking for a recipe to use them. This recipe was absolutely wonderful. A couple of the onions I used had a bad spot, so I had to improvise and forgo the "blooming" technique and just go with onion rings. The batter for the onion and the dipping sauce were both amazing! The only change I made to the batter was to use buttermilk instead of sweet milk. Try this - you won't be sorry. If the "blooming" technique seems intimidating, you could always make onion rings! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
great, going to try pedal next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conover, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States