Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
EXCELLENT! I recommend going on ebay and buying the "Great American Steakhouse Onion Machine". Its really cheap and makes it soooo easy to make the blooms. It works great! Otherwise if doing by hand, here is some major tips. First, a big "no-no" is to cut both ends of the onion off. DO NOT cut the root end. Just cut the top. The root holds it all together, so when you cut your petals they will not fall apart. Also when coring it, just core it about 90% of the way down, leaving the root intact. This is easiest with a corer utensil. When you are done, put it bloom-side down into a bowl of ice water for an hour. This really helps it to hold up and easier to work with. Now you are ready to bread and fry your bloom. When frying I recommend to put it in root side down first. Then half way thru cooking time flip it over, so that the bloom is on the bottom, and push down on the root. The pushing down on it will help to open the petals up. When it is done you can go and cut the rest of the core and the root out of the middle. You will have a perfect blooming onion everytime! Sorry so long, but I really wanted to help some people that are scared of making them. My first blooming onion just didnt work and I never wanted to make one again, until I did these steps and it turned out perfect. This recipe is great. The sauce is soo yummy! I slightly warm the sauce before serving, bc it just tastes so much better than serving it cold. It tastes just like the restaurants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
great recipe! for everyone having problems with the batter not sticking i recomend after dredging in batter allow it to sit for a while, 10min. Also beautiful presentation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I've combined a lot of the wisdom from other reviewers and added some of my own. Firstly, I think it's important to do this in a LARGE fryer. I use the turkey fryer at 375 F. The onion is large so it will drop the oil temp immediately upon dipping it into a small fryer, and if the oil temp drops too much, you will have a soggy, greasy onion instead of a crispy one. I cut the onion and dump it in upside down into ice water for 30 min. to spread the petals. I also double the dry ingredients to ensure full coating of the onion. The first time the dry ingredient amount didn't suffice. I leave the core intact to keep the onion from falling apart, and then I cut it out after I fry it. At 375 F, it takes about 6 minutes (with core intact) to fry properly. Keep watching it! It will overcook pretty quickly and there is a danger of undercooking it. The middle takes longer to cook than the outside petals, so when you remove it, check the inner petals for doneness. Towards the latter end of frying, I flip it upside down and push down on it to let the buoyancy of the oil spread out the petals. Of course, the sauce can be adjusted to taste. I increase the horseradish sauce to 3-4 T, quadruple the oregano, increase the salt to taste, and of course the cayenne pepper, because I like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I cut the onion into petals to make it easier on myself after seeing some of the other reviews. The sauce was amazing. I have been looking for something like this for a while. That alone is worth the 5 star rating. Thanks....I can't wait to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
No one at my GNO party could believe I actually made this - it turned out beautifully! I took a previous reviewer's suggestion and put the cut onion in simmering water for one minute, then in a ice-water bath for an additional 3 minutes. It was hard to get the batter inbetween the layers, but even the ones at the restaurant aren't always that perfect:) The sauce was terrific. I have a Fry Daddy Jr., so could only use a medium-large onion, which was perfect after about 7 minutes in the fryer. Anyone can make this, no kidding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I don't get the craving for these often but when I do...look out! This recipe is amazing! It rivals that of Outback or any other steakhouse company that have this on their menus! Since I realized that the "bloom" part is just for show, I took so many other's advice and just made these into onion rings. Hmmmmm good! They were the first to dissapear from our dinner table tonight and I will make these again very soon! Highly recommend! Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
We loved this! I used the batter mixture to make onion rings instead of the blooming onion and then we dipped the rings in the sauce. It was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This is awesome. So much fun to serve. The sauce is perfect. It's definitely not an appetizer because once you start eating them, you can't stop! Then, there's no room left for a meal! Great for football season. Go Pats! I bought this little device from one of those magazines of wierd home things that come in the mail. I think that's the reason mine come out so well. It's idiot proof. It has slots that tell you where to slice, a corer, and it stops the knife before you get to the bottom of the onion. If you like the bloom, look into it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
We made this for an appetizer Saturday night and it was really good. I had my hubby do the cutting as I don't have the best relationship with knives. He seemed to think it was pretty easy though. I'd like to make this again, however, I think next time I'll use this flour coating as a base and then coat the onion in a beer batter and see what happens. Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
If you like the taste of this dipping sauce, try this; Thousand Island dressing and creamy horseradish sauce! I used to work in a popular restaraunt and this is how we made ours. People loved it! They requested it for their onion rings, onion petals, and even a dip for their shrimp, and as a salad dressing. Last night I tried the dipping sauce in this recipe. Making it exactly as written, it was way too much mayo for my familys taste. I threw that batch out and started over cutting the mayo in half and we all enjoyed it. In the past I have made a dip very similar to this using sour cream instead of mayo and it was very good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States