Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We used this recipe for the sauce only an it did not dissapoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
taste was great, but it wouldn't stay together. more like onion straws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle L. Opitz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This tasted awesome! Seemed kind of labour intensive, but I imagine that with every one you make it will seem less complicated. I used extra hot prepared horseradish because that was all I could find at the supermarket. I made one sweet onion and one spanish onion and they were both equally good. I can definitely respect the price of one of these from the Outback Steakhouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophia à la mode
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as it is written. I did however, double the amount of dry ingredients (as was suggested) and it was just the right amount for my large Texas sweet onion! Thank you "pink" reviewer for your tips on preparing the onion- I couldn't have done it without them! The dipping sauce was not to our liking but it is just an opinion and nothing against the recipe. This was a hit with the mister! I will be adding this blooming onion recipe to my collection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia à la mode

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I literally just made this and had to write a review! GREAT recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!! The only thing I may change about the sauce is use 1/4 c mayo and 1/4 c sour cream, but it's still great as is!!!! I will for sure be making this very often!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I actually want to give 4.5, because I just can't bring myself to give 5. I haven't put my finger on exactly why I don't want to give full marks; as others have said, there is an elusive something "missing". That said, this is very, very good indeed. The sauce is very good, and others have done this with onion rings, so it is worthwhile keeping it! The "blooming" part is quite labour-intensive, and I got it right 3 out of 4 times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was fun to make-and so yummy! Make sure you read other reviews for some great tips on how to cut the onion, make it stay open, etc. Also, make sure your oil is hot enough, otherwise you'll end up with a slightly crispy but mostly soggy onion. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Yummy!!! this sauce was great. I didn't have any oregano, but this still turned out delicious! I only had hot cream-style horseradish so I only used 1 tblsp of that and omitted the cayenne pepper cause hubby doesn't like spicy food. I used this dip with the "Old Fashioned Onion Rings" that is on this site, and that is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This recipe couldn't come to anything closer than the real thing! I don't like to mess with doing the bloomin onion so much unless it's for show but for just the two of us, onion rings are perfect. No more running out for a 30 minute drive when I get that craving! Just wanted some fried veggies, so I tried this recipe with veggies (cauliflower, broccoli, carrots and yellow squash) and I can say that it's just as tasty! Just let them sit after you have coated them for a bit so that the coating sticks while frying. The dipping sauce goes great with those too! Now....I can't get that from The Outback! Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I added 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp chili powder-absolutely delicious!!! my kids went crazy over it! i suggest to double recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cozbey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsburg, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States