Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Just like the restaurant recipe! This was a HUGE hit from our friends and it has been requested for all future parties. I wouldn't change a thing. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
The flavor of the batter and the dipping sauce are great, exactly what I was looking for. We particularly liked the cayenne pepper, and thought the dip might be good on burgers. But I had a devil of a time getting the blossom to stay together. I'm sure I just need practice, but next time I'll probably use this recipe to make onion rings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very tasty! I added more horseradish so it suited my taste buds better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Worked perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcraiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
awesome taste just like lonestar steakhouse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Outstanding! I'm not sure why other reviewers said the sauce doesn't taste like Outback, mine sure did! I used regular horseradish and used less than 2 tablespoons. I made it the night before I served it. The onion cutting was easy, I did not cut the root. The battering was a mess and kind of a pain, but worth it in the end. The batter tasted just like Outback. This was SPOT ON Outback's version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was awsome. Tastes just like the resturaunts. I wouldnt change a thing about the ingredients. I would not boil the onion though as specified in recipe. I left mine in the water for 1 min and it went very limp. Cooked too much. Altho this is my first time frying an onion, I think next time I will cut the onion then leave it in the fridge over night or for a day. Onions separate after you cut them and put them back in the fridge for a while. The sauce was incredible. We had left over sauce so we used it on breaded catfish too. Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
We love this one!! I just make onion petals. This batter is great on shrimp, chicken, & fish too!!! And my husband loves the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Sauce came out really good. had some trouble with the temperature of the oil, was nervous when the onion was frying because it looked soggy after a few minutes, but once it came out of oil it wasn't as soggy as it looked. good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Tastes great! To make it easier I made thin onion rings. Next time I will cut the onion wider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States