Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I only made the sauce. It is perfect -- I could eat it with just a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was an excellent recipe! We made a few minor changes. First, instead of cutting the onion into "petals," we simply cut it into rings. It worked just as well. Second, we didn't double dip the cut onions (so the batter/coating would be a bit lighter). Third, we only used a pinch of cayenne instead of 1.5 tsp (we wanted something not quite so spicy hot) and we omitted the thyme (more by accident than by design). Better than the restaurant version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Yum. I agree with some of the others about the coating. It is delicious but doesn't stick...so next time ill try dredging them twice. Perfect otherwise. Accidentally bought grated horseradish and not creamy horseradish...couldn't tell the difference in taste. Just make sure to mix the sauce ahead of time and let rest in the fridge so the flavors can mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Really good. Followed the directions. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I only tried the sauce b/c I already had another recipe for the onion (which I failed at making correctly) but the sauce was very good and close to what you typically find in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This batter and dipping sacue were awesome. even though it is a pain make sure to double dip the batter. It really does make a huge difference. I did rings and not the blossom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Tasted great but not really easy to make due to the size (unless you have a huge deep fryer). Would work better as onion rings. Te sauce was out-of-this -world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Just like the restaurant recipe! This was a HUGE hit from our friends and it has been requested for all future parties. I wouldn't change a thing. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
The flavor of the batter and the dipping sauce are great, exactly what I was looking for. We particularly liked the cayenne pepper, and thought the dip might be good on burgers. But I had a devil of a time getting the blossom to stay together. I'm sure I just need practice, but next time I'll probably use this recipe to make onion rings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States