Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I thought this recipe was spot on. Loved it. I made the mistake of using giant onions the first time but realized that small to medium size onions work best and they really open when you slice and dip them in the coating -- it's much more manageable to do two small onions than one large one. The sauce was perfect too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I loved this, ended up doing petals last time. A little on the spicy side though. I'd cut back on the Cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.Waters

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
this was sooooo good. guests can't beleive how good it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOGI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Was okay but will try to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
The sauce in this is a 5 star sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
FANTASTIC! Made it with onion rings and without the oregano, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I did onion petals instead of the whole onion and they turned out very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wisdom06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
worth the heart attack, since at the end of the day I can say I did it to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
mmmm yum! Been thinking of this for a long time. It's not so hard as it works! Follow the directions, but don't cut off the root! I also did not hollow out the center as I used some very small onions I had on hand which made excellent personal sized blooms! I left out the cayenne pepper to favor the less spicy-oriented in our family. (If you're spice-paranoid, don't worry, this horseradish doesn't kick too much to enjoy, if you like it hotter, up the cayenne!) I made eight of the mini onions by doubling all other elements of the recipe. One sauce recipe would have still been fine, and I probably used a third of all the milkwash I made. Excellent recipe and tasted authentic! A little tip - use your corn-on-the-cob grippers and tongs to keep a hold of them while opening and battering, just remove plastic ones before putting the onion in hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
My husband and I LOVED this! Tasted just like the ones I've had in the many restaurants that serve this tasty appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States