Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I really loved this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe stated except I did not have the time to mess with the blooming technique and instead sliced rings, dipped in the batter and deep fried. They were fantastic as was the dipping sauce, and they disappeared as soon as they hit the plate. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Like some of the other reviewers, I had some problems with the execution, getting the petals to spread and the batter to stick evenly. I recommend looking through the comments for tips (or maybe even check youtube for video instructions) if you are a deep-fry novice like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I thought this recipe was spot on. Loved it. I made the mistake of using giant onions the first time but realized that small to medium size onions work best and they really open when you slice and dip them in the coating -- it's much more manageable to do two small onions than one large one. The sauce was perfect too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I loved this, ended up doing petals last time. A little on the spicy side though. I'd cut back on the Cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.Waters

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
this was sooooo good. guests can't beleive how good it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOGI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Was okay but will try to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
The sauce in this is a 5 star sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
FANTASTIC! Made it with onion rings and without the oregano, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I did onion petals instead of the whole onion and they turned out very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wisdom06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
worth the heart attack, since at the end of the day I can say I did it to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States