Bloody Broken Glass Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This review is only for the glass. The glass caramelized like crazy and it just came out horribly. I spent over an hour tethered to the kitchen for that candy. Here are the problems... WAY too much water. You just don't need that much water. It's all going to cook off anyway. You only need enough to make the sugar a little sludgey, so all you're doing is adding to your cooking time. Also, higher temp IS better. Sugar has a small amount of protein in it, so the longer you cook it the more likely it is to turn brown, even at a lower temp. High and fast prevents this. After an hour and a half, I chucked it all out and started again with a new recipe. This recipe literally took me 15 minutes and came out crystal clear, without a hint of browning: http://www.food.com/recipe/beautiful-stained-glass-hard-candy-197124
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dogscanlookup

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Glass was too thick for our cupcakes and the amounts of it was way too much. Great concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made these for my husband's birthday. He was floored! Awesome. The only thing I would suggest would be to omit the blue coloring in the blood if you use professional food coloring gel, a squeeze of red should do it. Also, adding a little of blue or green to the glass would make it look more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made these for Halloween this year, and they came out great! Next time, however, I will half or quarter the "glass" recipe, as I ended up with for more glass than I needed for even 4 dozen cupcakes. Please note that the glass will melt if let out of the refrigerator for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made these to bring to work on Hallowe'en. They are a bit time consuming, but everyone loved them. Reading other reviews, I tried to make the glass by going slow (it took an hour) but it still caramelized slightly halfway through and gave my glass a light amber hue. It only bummed me out - everyone else loved it. Instead of making the corn syrup blood, I just used some raspberry preserves I had on hand in the fridge. A great 'scary' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Won second place at the office bake-off with these. Suggestion: make half the amount of glass. Thinner looks more like a sheet of glass and it breaks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjcmartin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I am rating the glass portion of this recipe only. I used another recipe for the cupcakes. (Sweet Vanilla Cupcakes by Marianne - so good!) I think that the reason several people had issues with the sugar turning amber was perhaps due to the pot they used. I used a very heavy bottomed pot and had no issue with the color changing. I also combined the sugar and water and stirred until the sugar was absorbed and the liquid returned to being clear. I then added the corn syrup, cream of tartar and a bit of peppermint extract. Be careful when adding flavorings as they vaporize quickly and can make it difficult to breathe. My syrup thickened, bubbled and then REALLY bubbled hard. The temperature rose steadily and never turned color. I poured onto my Silpat lined sheet at exactly 300 degrees. It chilled for 4 hours then we broke it. That was so much fun! I used my own concoction for the blood. I used honey and mixed in some liquid food color then went with some paste color for a deeper red. My daughter and I had a blast making these! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The "glass" was definitely time consuming to make, but not hard. Turned out great. I let the pan sit out overnight and it didn't melt like another reviewer experienced. The "blood" came out a little thin and I didn't add any water...maybe more corn starch next time? I also did 15 red drops and 1 blue drop of food coloring. They looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamie
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
it was really fun and easy making the sugar glass although the glass did come out a little yellow. For the cupcake though I made a pumpkin ginger spice cupcake *found on the website and for the frosting I did a cream cheese frosting and put 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon just to give it a little kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
These are perfect for a halloween party! However, I instead made red velvet cupcakes from scratch with a cream cheese frosting to make it a bit "bloodier".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States