Bloody Broken Glass Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
These were so fun to make and serve! I had my doubts about making candy glass because I have so little experience making candy but it turned out so good, looked just like glass! I was so impressed! Next time i will try to spread the hot candy a little bit thinner to make the "glass" not quite as thick. But otherwise this was a super fun treat to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Basing this recipe off of the broken glass candy and the blood recipe...FANTASTIC! I had already made the cupcakes and frosting with a different recipe then the recipe on here just because I was working on custom cupcakes for a client. I strictly use this recipe as an add-on to what I was already doing. And it worked out perfectly. Served up bloody brains jabbed with broken glass for my clients was out of this world fun. The candy tasted wonderful like cotton candy as my husband and others stated and the blood color was the bomb. I would recommend adding a clear flavoring by Lorann's to enhance the blood because it was knock your socks off sweet. I added cherry to go with the cherry filling I had inside the cupcakes. Will totally make again. Because it was a total hit and now I have more people asking to make the same cupcakes as I photo'ed for this recipe. TY because this is a perfectly fun recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
These looked great! I would note that when I first made the glass it looks very sharp and clear; however, the next day the glass had a more rounded polished look to it. This was probably due to the fact I had to store them in the fridge because of the frosting I used. Both looked good, just different (I probably would go with the same day look myself). Also, since it is corn syrup extra pieces will fuse together if not stored separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bea E. Ansley
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was my first time making cupcakes or sugar candy! My glass is yellow tinted, which is a bummer but I am just happy it turned into the glasst! I was afraid of messing this up majorly. I substituted the light corn syrup with 1 cup water, 2 cups sugar and another 1/4 teaspoon - just because I didn't have any on hand. I also just splattered red food coloring rather than making the blood syrup - again, because I didn't have the light corn syrup. Overall, I had a really good experience with this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea E. Ansley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Dexter
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Combined this recipe with the chocolate mice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Dexter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lp
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I made these for Halloween and they turned out pretty well I only had a few issues... The "blood" was WAY too dark but the recipe as read didn't make it dark enough. The broken glass didn't setup quite right and some of the pieces were a little bent and not as cleanly broken. Overall everyone thought there were awesome and most of them were gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This review is only for the glass. The glass caramelized like crazy. I think there is WAY too much water. I don't think you need that much water. It's all going to cook off anyway. You only need enough to make the sugar a little sludgey, so all you're doing is adding to your cooking time. Also, higher temp IS better. Sugar has a small amount of protein in it, so the longer you cook it the more likely it is to turn brown, even at a lower temp. High and fast prevents this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dogscanlookup

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Glass was too thick for our cupcakes and the amounts of it was way too much. Great concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made these for my husband's birthday. He was floored! Awesome. The only thing I would suggest would be to omit the blue coloring in the blood if you use professional food coloring gel, a squeeze of red should do it. Also, adding a little of blue or green to the glass would make it look more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made these for Halloween this year, and they came out great! Next time, however, I will half or quarter the "glass" recipe, as I ended up with for more glass than I needed for even 4 dozen cupcakes. Please note that the glass will melt if let out of the refrigerator for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States