Bloody Broken Glass Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bea E. Ansley
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was my first time making cupcakes or sugar candy! My glass is yellow tinted, which is a bummer but I am just happy it turned into the glasst! I was afraid of messing this up majorly. I substituted the light corn syrup with 1 cup water, 2 cups sugar and another 1/4 teaspoon - just because I didn't have any on hand. I also just splattered red food coloring rather than making the blood syrup - again, because I didn't have the light corn syrup. Overall, I had a really good experience with this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea E. Ansley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Dexter
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Combined this recipe with the chocolate mice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Dexter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lp
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I made these for Halloween and they turned out pretty well I only had a few issues... The "blood" was WAY too dark but the recipe as read didn't make it dark enough. The broken glass didn't setup quite right and some of the pieces were a little bent and not as cleanly broken. Overall everyone thought there were awesome and most of them were gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Colgate, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This review is only for the glass. The glass caramelized like crazy. I think there is WAY too much water. I don't think you need that much water. It's all going to cook off anyway. You only need enough to make the sugar a little sludgey, so all you're doing is adding to your cooking time. Also, higher temp IS better. Sugar has a small amount of protein in it, so the longer you cook it the more likely it is to turn brown, even at a lower temp. High and fast prevents this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dogscanlookup

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Glass was too thick for our cupcakes and the amounts of it was way too much. Great concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made these for my husband's birthday. He was floored! Awesome. The only thing I would suggest would be to omit the blue coloring in the blood if you use professional food coloring gel, a squeeze of red should do it. Also, adding a little of blue or green to the glass would make it look more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made these for Halloween this year, and they came out great! Next time, however, I will half or quarter the "glass" recipe, as I ended up with for more glass than I needed for even 4 dozen cupcakes. Please note that the glass will melt if let out of the refrigerator for too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made these to bring to work on Hallowe'en. They are a bit time consuming, but everyone loved them. Reading other reviews, I tried to make the glass by going slow (it took an hour) but it still caramelized slightly halfway through and gave my glass a light amber hue. It only bummed me out - everyone else loved it. Instead of making the corn syrup blood, I just used some raspberry preserves I had on hand in the fridge. A great 'scary' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Won second place at the office bake-off with these. Suggestion: make half the amount of glass. Thinner looks more like a sheet of glass and it breaks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjcmartin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The "glass" was definitely time consuming to make, but not hard. Turned out great. I let the pan sit out overnight and it didn't melt like another reviewer experienced. The "blood" came out a little thin and I didn't add any water...maybe more corn starch next time? I also did 15 red drops and 1 blue drop of food coloring. They looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States