Blondie Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I've been making these blondies for the past several weeks now because my boyfriend likes them so much. Only a couple of differences with my version: * I use 1/3 cup of real butter instead of shortening. The butter pretty much makes this treat. *I use 2/3 cup of brown sugar...it's definitely sweet enough without the other 1/3 cup * I use 1/4 cup chopped pecans & I fold in 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips for a "macadamia" feel to it. Also, make sure you mix the flour mixture a little at a time so the mixture stays smooth. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMILLYA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I made this recipe at home and although it was easy, i felt, actually know that it should say butter, NOT shortening. When I took it out of the over, a disgusting smell of shortening entered my kitchen, i began to gag and after i tried the awful thing i had to spit it out right away. Please Camellia, don't worry about people not wanting butter in their dishes, worry about them gagging at the smell. Although i will NEVER use this site again for my baking needs, if i did i would certainly use butter now that i know what awful food comes out of the "shortening desserts".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
If you make the following changes, this will be a 5 star recipe: Butter instead of Shortening Use softened butter and beat with mixer (skip the whole melting in a pot bit) Skip the nuts I doubled this recipe- a single batch made too thin of a blondie. Baking time will be 25-30 minutes depending on your oven. When made with those changes, the blondie is soft, moist, and reminds me of the blondies they would serve at summer camp as a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I found these to be very bland and dry. I was looking for a recipe close to the Blondies that Applebees serves and this just wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This recipe needs some "tweaking". I subistuted the crisco with real butter because I don't care for the crisco flavor and I think it made it better. This recipe didn't have near enough flour. To get a ture blondie/brownie you need at least twice the flour if not more. The batter was way to thin however I gave my first batch a try the way Camellia said. When you put it into the oven-----let it cook for exactly 20 minutes and DO NOT CHECK ON IT! The second I opened the oven door my batter fell like a brick! Try using All Purpose Flour and double it so the batter looks more like brownie batter. The flavor of the blondie itself was great. I ended up scraping the flattened mixture off the bottom of the pan and sharing it with my boyfriend. I will tweak it and give another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windband
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Great recipe! I followed another reviewer's suggestion, using only 1/3 cup of butter and 2/3 cup of brown sugar. Also, I added another 2 tablespoons of milk, which made it moist enough. Tasty!! I almost ate the whole batch myself. I will try to add chocolate chips or cranberries next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I make a recipe similar to this but I use 1/4 stick of margarine-- 2 T of milk-- 1 t of baking powder and 1 cup of butterscotch morsels. What I like about the recipe is that it's very easy and never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Very addictive! I did reduce the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup and added chocolate chips to replace the nuts. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Made this recipe for my family. It was simple and delicious. The kids ate most of it, which is the best indicator of a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This recipie was very easy, quick and incredibly tasty without any topping or icing at all. The batter with just one tablespoon of milk was a bit dry and I used two tablespoons instead and it worked out much better and much more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States