Blondie Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Camellia, thank you SO much for submitting this recipe. My husband says it's a keeper. It's the only "blonde" brownie recipe that I've found that has the same consistancy of the "browne" brownies. You see, my husband is allergic to the citric acid used in chocolate to preserve it. He absolutely appreciated this recipe! Thank you, I've found a chocolate alternative! Plus it's SO easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This recipe needs some "tweaking". I subistuted the crisco with real butter because I don't care for the crisco flavor and I think it made it better. This recipe didn't have near enough flour. To get a ture blondie/brownie you need at least twice the flour if not more. The batter was way to thin however I gave my first batch a try the way Camellia said. When you put it into the oven-----let it cook for exactly 20 minutes and DO NOT CHECK ON IT! The second I opened the oven door my batter fell like a brick! Try using All Purpose Flour and double it so the batter looks more like brownie batter. The flavor of the blondie itself was great. I ended up scraping the flattened mixture off the bottom of the pan and sharing it with my boyfriend. I will tweak it and give another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I made these a few days ago and my husband can't stop eating them. I thought they had a peculiar taste so I have not eaten one. For his sake, I'll make them again though. I added mini chocolate chips to the batch so it really tastes like one huge cookie...not really a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I made this recipe at home and although it was easy, i felt, actually know that it should say butter, NOT shortening. When I took it out of the over, a disgusting smell of shortening entered my kitchen, i began to gag and after i tried the awful thing i had to spit it out right away. Please Camellia, don't worry about people not wanting butter in their dishes, worry about them gagging at the smell. Although i will NEVER use this site again for my baking needs, if i did i would certainly use butter now that i know what awful food comes out of the "shortening desserts".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
I'm sorry Camellia, but I did not like these at all. I think the walnuts overpowered the rest of the recipe. Overall I thought these were bland and unexciting, but I might try them again with less walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
these were pretty yummy and pretty easy. plus, i felt impressed with myself for making them from scratch. the only substitute i made was pecans for the walnuts because that's what i had. didn't use any sauces (tho i bet they're good); however, i did put some vanilla ice cream on them - delish! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I replaced the walnuts with M&Ms. My husband's boy scout group devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I make a recipe similar to this but I use 1/4 stick of margarine-- 2 T of milk-- 1 t of baking powder and 1 cup of butterscotch morsels. What I like about the recipe is that it's very easy and never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This recipe makes fabulous "brownies". I followed the recipe exactly and it was so easy. I hesitated trying it because of some of the reviews but am so glad I did. They do not need chocolate added or sauce of any kind. They are great on their own with a cold glass of milk. It is a really nice change from the typical chocolate brownie. I will be making these often! Thank you for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
These are awesome with vanilla ice cream and warm caramel sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States