Blondie Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by gastlygoul
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Very chewy consistancy. I added large chocolate chips to the top at the end in an even layer so they wouldn't sink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I agree with another reviewer---prepared strictly by the recipe, these blondies never set. Too much sugar and crisco caused them to be mushy and gritty. I also wonder about melting the shortening before adding. Don't bother with this one, unless you alter the recipe significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOLA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I thought these came out pretty good but, with the changes that I made. I used 1/2 c butter instead of the shortening, I used 2 tablespoons milk, 1 1/2 cups flour, omitted the nuts and used baking chocolate candies instead. I baked it @ 325 deg. It did have a nice chewy brownie texture. Although I thought they were good my 3 yr old smelled it & handed it back (it smells like brown sugar)That was shocking. My sister loved them she said she had to stop herself from eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I bake a sweet thing for my husband every weekend, and this time, he asked for some blondies. Having never made any before, I came to Allrecipes and chose this one. I really hate to give negative reviews, but I was very disappointed in these. The flavor was only so-so. The shortening (I used the popular brand's butter flavor) leaves this blondie with an oily texture that wasn't very pleasing. The center of the pan never got firm. It stayed the consistency of the raw batter and would not set. For fear of ruining the edges by overbaking, I gave up after 35 minutes. I like gooey blondies...but I don't like eating raw blondie batter, and that's what I got. I think that perhaps replacing the shortening with all butter would help, but I think I'll just go with a different recipe next time. I don't think I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Nix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Taste like a really moist cake to me. I half with chocolate chip half without I like the one without . I too used butter . This would taste really good with Ice cream yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This recipie was very easy, quick and incredibly tasty without any topping or icing at all. The batter with just one tablespoon of milk was a bit dry and I used two tablespoons instead and it worked out much better and much more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Thanks so much for sharing, these brownies are fantastic! I love recipes, especially dessert recipes that use ingredients I always have on hand. I used butter instead of shortening also, and added 1/2 t. of cinnamon as well, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I've been making these blondies for the past several weeks now because my boyfriend likes them so much. Only a couple of differences with my version: * I use 1/3 cup of real butter instead of shortening. The butter pretty much makes this treat. *I use 2/3 cup of brown sugar...it's definitely sweet enough without the other 1/3 cup * I use 1/4 cup chopped pecans & I fold in 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips for a "macadamia" feel to it. Also, make sure you mix the flour mixture a little at a time so the mixture stays smooth. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMILLYA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
i did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and used chocolate chips instead of walnuts. this recipe is great! worth to try, really. i didn't use shortening, i replaced it with margarine and no need to add salt anymore. the cake tastes better the day after it's baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I made these with butter and a little more four and everyone one loved them even the chocolate lovers in my house. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States