Blonde Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I made these and followed the recipe exactly. They came out flat and funny in texture. I bake a lot and these did not turn out right. I tried to make them 2 X and they turned out the same way both times. I will be looking for a different blondie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These are great! In regards to some of the bad reviews ( being either too dense or too dry), remember when you are wanting to achieve a lighter texture in a baked item then always: 1) mix in flour until just combined (DO NOT over-mix!) 2) measure flour either by weight or by spooning into a measuring cup- too much flour= dry & over-mixing= more density (hard). Hope this helps :) Ours were very YUMMY. I lightly frosted them with the "Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting", which I halved and was plenty for this recipe. The boy's loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Our family loves these. Our Mom made them for us beginning at least 50 years ago. I still make them for us and to take to various functions. I use pecans instead of walnuts. When my niece who is allergic to chocolate is going to be involved, I use white chocolate chips. Everyone loves it with the white chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I kind of laughed when I read that these were the ugliest brownies that some of the reviewers had ever made...but it's true! I thought it was also funny that no one had posted a picture so I had to. I made them in an 8x8 pan, and they rose so high I thought they might overflow. Then when they cooled and I cut them, they fell so thin. They taste pretty good - I didn't have nuts, so I used 1/2 cup each of peanut butter, white chocolate and semi-sweet chips. I baked for 40 minutes since they were in a smaller pan. They got really chewy around the edges, and gooey in the middle, with an almost flaky top. I didn't like the taste of the dough - the butter flavored Crisco left a chemical taste. But you can't taste it in the end product. They're a bit too rich for me, but do taste good under a little vanilla ice cream. They're just...odd. Not sure I'll make them again, but they aren't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
When I cut up the panful I thought, "These are the ugliest brownies I've ever seen." They had a stiff crust and were very gooey (almost raw) inside. But I served them, and got rave reviews. They're still the ugliest brownies I've ever seen but they're mighty tasty, nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great recipe that was even better once I added sliced almonds and cherries-fresh & pitted or dried chunks. I often make an extra pan as the first one doesn't last long. This is a gooey recipe that creates a yummy crust, be sure to keep your eyes on the baking time. I did change the pan size, I use a glass 8"x 8" square pan as we like our blondies/brownies more on the thick side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lv2ck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe to a T", minus the walnuts.It turned out reaaly weird.....like a thin hard crust on the outside and pudding inside.Tasted good,actually the taste was exactly what I was looking for.Seems to me it needs more flour..??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of Four

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
these were just what i was looking for! i made with butter instead of shortening and left out the nuts because i didn't have them. i also was low on brown sugar so i could only use one cup and had to add a 1/2 cup of white sugar...still turned out amazing! next time i make these tho i will add the nuts and not use the white sugar and i bet they will be even better. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States