Blonde Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I made these and followed the recipe exactly. They came out flat and funny in texture. I bake a lot and these did not turn out right. I tried to make them 2 X and they turned out the same way both times. I will be looking for a different blondie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These are great! In regards to some of the bad reviews ( being either too dense or too dry), remember when you are wanting to achieve a lighter texture in a baked item then always: 1) mix in flour until just combined (DO NOT over-mix!) 2) measure flour either by weight or by spooning into a measuring cup- too much flour= dry & over-mixing= more density (hard). Hope this helps :) Ours were very YUMMY. I lightly frosted them with the "Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting", which I halved and was plenty for this recipe. The boy's loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Our family loves these. Our Mom made them for us beginning at least 50 years ago. I still make them for us and to take to various functions. I use pecans instead of walnuts. When my niece who is allergic to chocolate is going to be involved, I use white chocolate chips. Everyone loves it with the white chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin yummy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I kind of laughed when I read that these were the ugliest brownies that some of the reviewers had ever made...but it's true! I thought it was also funny that no one had posted a picture so I had to. I made them in an 8x8 pan, and they rose so high I thought they might overflow. Then when they cooled and I cut them, they fell so thin. They taste pretty good - I didn't have nuts, so I used 1/2 cup each of peanut butter, white chocolate and semi-sweet chips. I baked for 40 minutes since they were in a smaller pan. They got really chewy around the edges, and gooey in the middle, with an almost flaky top. I didn't like the taste of the dough - the butter flavored Crisco left a chemical taste. But you can't taste it in the end product. They're a bit too rich for me, but do taste good under a little vanilla ice cream. They're just...odd. Not sure I'll make them again, but they aren't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
When I cut up the panful I thought, "These are the ugliest brownies I've ever seen." They had a stiff crust and were very gooey (almost raw) inside. But I served them, and got rave reviews. They're still the ugliest brownies I've ever seen but they're mighty tasty, nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great recipe that was even better once I added sliced almonds and cherries-fresh & pitted or dried chunks. I often make an extra pan as the first one doesn't last long. This is a gooey recipe that creates a yummy crust, be sure to keep your eyes on the baking time. I did change the pan size, I use a glass 8"x 8" square pan as we like our blondies/brownies more on the thick side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lv2ck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe to a T", minus the walnuts.It turned out reaaly weird.....like a thin hard crust on the outside and pudding inside.Tasted good,actually the taste was exactly what I was looking for.Seems to me it needs more flour..??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Hughes Cormier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
these were just what i was looking for! i made with butter instead of shortening and left out the nuts because i didn't have them. i also was low on brown sugar so i could only use one cup and had to add a 1/2 cup of white sugar...still turned out amazing! next time i make these tho i will add the nuts and not use the white sugar and i bet they will be even better. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States