Blizzard Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made this for my sons 9th bday and it was so hot outside so it was perfect for a water party made it with mint oreos tasted just like a blizzard cake at DQ thanks for sharing. Now I have questions for all about the cakes Im thinking of making with this recipe here they are: My 4 year old wants banana cream pie blizzard cake for his bday in nov so thinking add banana pudding or bananas (have to think about how it will work) and nilla wafers. Then for his party he wants m&m blizzard cake. Then for my bday I want to try cheesecake one which I would add a cheesecake and graham cracker right? For a pumpkin one was thinking of making a pie and adding it to it with the ice cream and cool whip any answers (HELP ME) for those new ones Im attempting to make in a few months? Not sure how the banana one will turn out I will let all know when I make it. But awesome recipe and hope to make all these without them tasting weird:) Wish me luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very good. Still in my freezer a week later and tastes great. We used golden oreos. I will look to use other candy bars too. We also halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Loved it! Very easy. I only used 1/2 gallon of ice cream -it was plenty. I made a melted butter/crushed cookie crust, poured the ice cream/cool whip with more cookies mixture over that and topped with more broken cookies for garnish. Almost too good as we had huge helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very good and very easy to make. I layered it so that it would taste more like the cakes at dairy queen. I made the bottom layer with chocolate ice cream and chocolate oreos, then over that i had a very thin layer of just the oreo crumbs, on top of that i put a little layer of fudge, and then the top layer was just the original oreos with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
only had half gallon ice cream, but followed the recipe exactly besided that..made it for the 4th of July and family loved it! it reminds me of the DQ..yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymiller333
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made an oreo cookie crust..then mixed crushed oreos into the softened icecream and then folded in the whipped cream and put it into a 9 x 13 pan. I bought 2 packages of oreos and used them all, I then used a 2 qt container of van. icecream and a 16 oz whipcream container.I then topped it off when more crushed oreos. It turned out pretty good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Thought this was okay... I'm not sure how you'd fit a whole gallon of ice cream plus 12 ounces of whipped topping into one 9x13 dish. I used a half gallon of vanilla frozen yogurt and maybe 6 ounces of whipped topping and it filled my 9x13 to the rim. This recipe didn't "knock my socks off", but it's pretty hard to go wrong with ice cream and oreos. Would probably be a great addition to a summer cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was so good! Tasted just like a blizzard. Followed the directions to a T and loved it! Can't wait to try with different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Simply amazing and amazingly simple!! We have a birthday every 2months in our house so we go thru alot of DQ cakes. I tried this and everyone loved it!! I split a gallon of ice cream and the container of whipped topping and made Oreo and Chocolate chip with a Graham crust...all in a big lasagna pan. It turned out perfect! I will never buy another ice cream cake...thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
this is one of my favorite recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hebbies37

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States