Blini (Russian Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
and 5 starts from me! SOOOOO TASTY!!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly, except I did not have citric acid powder so I substituted the juice of 1/2 a lemon. They were flavorful, tender, and disappeared faster then you could say breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
totally awesome!! just, when cooking, i used 1/2 teaspoon of butter for every pancake and once it was cooked, i spread butter on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very good!! You can get really creative with these. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
These were delicious and fun to serve to guests. I served them with hot cooked apples with cinnamon and ~1 T. of cream cheese mixed in per 1 cup of apples. Also had maple syrup and strawberry syrup and whipped cream at the table. I taught the houseguests how to fold the blini for fun, and then everyone ate them however they wanted--folded, rolled, flat.....whatever. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IGumanoid
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
God, can't stop praising these as the recipe simplifies my life so much! Perfect consistency, easy to cook and turn out so beautiful and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGumanoid
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Great taste, but yielded over 100 blinis and it took me over two hours to cook (prep time was quick, but cooking over 100 blinis was exhausting becuase you cannot look away even for a second). I made the following cahnges to lower the amount of fat and calories:1% milk instead of regular, and I did not use any butter at all as I made them on VillaWare Crepe Maker that has a non-stick coating that requires no butter or cooking spray at all. Also, very importantly, instead of adding 1/8 citric acid powder I added a few drops of fresh lemon juice into the spoon with baking soda before adding it in just enough for the soda to bubble up - to eliminate the baking soda taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I used veg oil instead of butter to fry them in. Just enough to lightly cover the bottom of the pan. Buttering each final blin is a good idea to keep them from drying out on the edges. Yes this recipe produces a TON of blini, but they disappear quickly too. Lemon juice instead of citric acid powder works well, and I felt that the sugar and salt amounts could have been doubled. They tasted under seasoned to me. I will make these again next time they will come out perfect. Serve them in true Russian fashion with honey or jam and sour cream, or caviar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Absolutely perfect! I travel frequently to and from FSU countries, and this recipe tastes exactly like the blini they make. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious! We really loved these, you can fill them with just about anything. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States