Bleu Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Dear Sara - I will be sending you my liposuction bill from eating massive quantities of this macaroni. This is very, very good. It's almost exactly like the Gorgonzola Chicken dish that I get at my favorite restaurant. DEFINTITELY use an extra 3/4 cup of cream or use less flour. It doesn't need as much flour as it calls for unless you like a VERY THICK sauce. Even with the extra cream it was thick, so keep that in mind! I made this without the peppers, not a fan. This would also work very well with chicken and penne instead of just a flat out "macaroni and cheese".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
For my husband and myself who love blue cheese this was a two thumbs recipe. I used evaporated skim mild instead of the cream to cut the fat content and tossed in a crushed clove of garlic with the peppers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Addictively yummy! Like some others I added fresh garlic. I made mine creamier by doubling the cream. Such great flavor -- I'll be craving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yummy! A real keeper! Made the following modifications: omitted the salt and pepper during the cooking process; put 1/2 each of a red and green bell pepper in the food processor and finely chopped; increased the cream to 1 and 1/4 cups; decreased the amount of flour to 1/4 cup; used 1/2 cup of blue cheese, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, and 1/2 cup of shredded swiss cheese. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I really enjoyed this adult version of macaroni and cheese. It was a different change of pace and I love blue cheese to begin with. I would not change a thing, except maybe make it a little more creamy. It's even better the next day. Take note, you have to like blue cheese to enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
this is very rich and definitely for bleu-cheese lovers. If you're not passionate about the bleu cheese, cut it back to 1/4 cup and add 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese. Like previous reviewers have noted, this sauce is very thick, so either add more cream (or milk) to thin it out to desired consistency or cut back on the flour by 1/4-1/2 cup. I would also recommend chopping the bells peppers rather than slicing them...the slices were a bit big. I have another mac n' cheese recipe that I like more, so I will likely return to that one. But this is a nice variation on your standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
MMMM YUMMY! What a nice change from the usual mac-n-cheese! I highly recommend trying this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This recipe did not turn out the way I expected. I halved the blue cheese and it was still very strong (and I like blue cheese). Sauce was not creamy at all--more of a thick, chewy texture. My husband came to the rescue and added Louisiana hotsauce and it ended up tasting like a "buffalo wing" macaroni and cheese, which was a big improvement. My neighbor absolutely adored it and took all of the leftovers home. If you are a blue cheese fiend, you may like this, otherwise the taste will be too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was ok but definitely nothing special. Husband thought it tasted kinda funky, and wasn't very keen. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
My husband and I love bleu cheese but Oh my was this way too much bleu cheese. Maybe because i tripled the recipe to serve a lot of ppl. We did not eat it only a few bites were taken and lots of groaning and complaints were passed around. I think it would have been better with a lot less bleu cheese. Maybe some one can try it and report back as I have been forbidden to try this one again. A sure shame as I was lookig so forward to a great suprise and dish to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Persia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States