Bleu Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The flavor is too strong and the recipe too rich; we could only eat a few bites...and we love blue cheese. Perhaps this would work better if paired with a beef dish to balance the strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
this is very rich and definitely for bleu-cheese lovers. If you're not passionate about the bleu cheese, cut it back to 1/4 cup and add 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese. Like previous reviewers have noted, this sauce is very thick, so either add more cream (or milk) to thin it out to desired consistency or cut back on the flour by 1/4-1/2 cup. I would also recommend chopping the bells peppers rather than slicing them...the slices were a bit big. I have another mac n' cheese recipe that I like more, so I will likely return to that one. But this is a nice variation on your standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Dear Sara - I will be sending you my liposuction bill from eating massive quantities of this macaroni. This is very, very good. It's almost exactly like the Gorgonzola Chicken dish that I get at my favorite restaurant. DEFINTITELY use an extra 3/4 cup of cream or use less flour. It doesn't need as much flour as it calls for unless you like a VERY THICK sauce. Even with the extra cream it was thick, so keep that in mind! I made this without the peppers, not a fan. This would also work very well with chicken and penne instead of just a flat out "macaroni and cheese".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was pretty good...very blue-cheesy!! I added milk to create a smoother sauce, and after it was done I ended up adding fresh spinach which I thought was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
My husband and I really love this dish! I make it according the directions - no additions or omissions. It is quite rich, though, so I usually serve it with light foods (like a tossed salad and simply seasoned meat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
My husband and I love bleu cheese and this was an excellent twist on an old fave, especially when served along side a roast beef sandwhich. Don't expect the kids to like it - My 4 year old wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sebewaing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I loved it but I should caution you. If you are not a fan of blue cheese than you will not like this recipe. I am a huge fan so I thought it was great. The recipe was followed exactly and came out wonderful. It is also pretty simple to make. The dish is very rich though and so I will only make it on special occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was ok but definitely nothing special. Husband thought it tasted kinda funky, and wasn't very keen. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
adults loved, kids liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I really enjoyed this adult version of macaroni and cheese. It was a different change of pace and I love blue cheese to begin with. I would not change a thing, except maybe make it a little more creamy. It's even better the next day. Take note, you have to like blue cheese to enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States