Bleu Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I thought it was ok. Mine turned out pretty dry and it had a really strong blue cheese flavor. I like blue cheese so I didnt mind that part. My husband did not like it though. It seemed kinda boring to me. I did not put the peppers in it though because we dont like them. Not sure if that had anything to do with it being boring. Definitely more of a side dish than a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Unlike everyone else, I could barely taste the blue cheese in this. I did add more cream like other reviewers suggested, so maybe that mellowed the flavor a bit. I LOVE blue cheese though, and was hoping for a really powerful taste. It was still good, but I was disappointed. I did add sauteed mushrooms and carmelized onions. Those were great. I think I will try this recipe again but with more blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I really wanted to love this recipe, but it was just okay. The sauce was missing something to it, whether it be another kind of cheese to round out the flavour a bit more, or something else, but I will admit that I was a little disappointed with this. I made it for a group of friends, and everyone ate it, and there weren’t any leftovers, however this is definitely one of those recipes that you need to play around with before you find a dish that's to your liking. I recommend it to anyone who loves blue cheese, but if you're looking at the ingredients thinking that you want to add something else to it, trust that instinct, and add whatever it is that you're thinking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I added a few slices of chopped bacon, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Wow, great! I halved the flour and subbed sour cream for yogurt. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I took this to a potluck and came home with an empty dish. I made it pretty hasitly and forgot to add the flour and it turned out plenty good, not runny at all! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I loved this, but one of my friends wasn't crazy about it since the bleu cheese tends to stay clumped and does not hold as well to the noodles like typical mac and cheese. If no one else though, I would make it for myself during one of my bleu cheese cravings. Plus I think its easier to make healthier since bleu cheese is already so strong, you don't have to make it as fatty and cheesy like regular mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is amazing! We've made it several times and we just love it. I always use half/half (sometimes FF half/half) and fat-free plain yogurt, and it still tastes great. It's delicious with blue cheese, but I'm also looking forward to trying some other cheeses (like feta)! Highly recommend for an easy, sophisticated side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
great dish....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKARAGON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I used feta cheese and substituted fat free half and half for the cream. It was really tasty. Next time I'll try with blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States