Bleu Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Surprisingly good. I wasn't sure how well the bell peppers would complement the blue cheese flavor, but I used Orange and Yellow Bells instead of Green and Red, and they provided a subtle accent to the sauce and a nice contrasting crunch. I hedged and only used 1/2 cup blue, and 1 cup of the Kraft Four-Cheese Italian blend, but as a blue cheese fan, I could see upping the blue to at least 3/4c of the 1.5 total. I also added a cup of cream, rather than 3/4c. I think I might try adding broccoli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
A local restaurant used to serve a Bleu Cheese Macaroni and they recently stopped so I went searching for a replacement. This is amazing! Their version had bacon and apples, so I made it that way, omitting the add-ins in this recipe. Simple added 3-4 slices of crumbled bacon and about a half of a diced granny smith or other firm/slightly tart apple after removing from the heat. The heat of the dish "cooks" the apple just enough. It is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
FANTASTIC! We thought this recipe was great as written, but even better with 1/8 tsp of cayenne and 1/2 tsp of smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was good. Like other reviewers I scaled back the blue cheese to a half cup and instead of plain parmesan cheese I used a 5 cheese Italian blend. Very intersting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timwsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is a VERY interesting mac and cheese version NOT for everyone. However, if you are a blue cheese lover, then this is for you! The taste is unique and gourmet and yet easy to make. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrsolyaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
If you like bleu cheese you will LOVE this recipe! This mac n cheese is BETTER than any I've had at restaurants. I add more cream to make it creamier. But other than that... it's PERFECT! Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a delicious spin on mac and cheese. I used penne pasta as opposed to elbows and I also added additional cream to loosen up the cheese sauce. Great recipe! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yummy! A real keeper! Made the following modifications: omitted the salt and pepper during the cooking process; put 1/2 each of a red and green bell pepper in the food processor and finely chopped; increased the cream to 1 and 1/4 cups; decreased the amount of flour to 1/4 cup; used 1/2 cup of blue cheese, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, and 1/2 cup of shredded swiss cheese. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I really like Bleu Cheese, but this was almost TOO much. It's good in moderation, but I couldn't even finish a whole bowl. I'm not sure if I like the peppers in there, I'd probably take them out the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Definitely needed garlic, but delicious. Added more cream, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States