Bleu Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
If you like bleu cheese you will LOVE this recipe! This mac n cheese is BETTER than any I've had at restaurants. I add more cream to make it creamier. But other than that... it's PERFECT! Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a delicious spin on mac and cheese. I used penne pasta as opposed to elbows and I also added additional cream to loosen up the cheese sauce. Great recipe! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yummy! A real keeper! Made the following modifications: omitted the salt and pepper during the cooking process; put 1/2 each of a red and green bell pepper in the food processor and finely chopped; increased the cream to 1 and 1/4 cups; decreased the amount of flour to 1/4 cup; used 1/2 cup of blue cheese, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, and 1/2 cup of shredded swiss cheese. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I really like Bleu Cheese, but this was almost TOO much. It's good in moderation, but I couldn't even finish a whole bowl. I'm not sure if I like the peppers in there, I'd probably take them out the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Definitely needed garlic, but delicious. Added more cream, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was very good! I made a few changes too. First I only used 1/4 c of flour. Then I substituted cheddar cheese for Parm and omitted the peppers. I also cooked and cubed chicken breast and added that to the mixture along with Franks Red Hot Buffalo sauce! Super as a buffalo chicken mac n cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
My husband and I loved the dish! As other have mentioned, the cheese is a bit overwhelming. I will cut back to about 3/4 cup next time. I also took the advice of other reviewers and only used a tablespoon of flour to thicken the cheese. This seemed to work well, and was nice and creamy. Fresh bell peppers from our garden only added to the deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This recipe is really good, however, I do doctor it slightly and serve it as the main dish instead of a side dish. I leave out the peppers because I just prefer not to have them in this dish. I use a full pound of macaroni and add broccoli (1 12-14 oz. bag frozen usually works - I steam it and add it to the pasta before the sauce is put on.) I also add just a smidge more blue cheese, if I have it - I just LOVE it! The other thing I add to the sauce is garlic - fresh minced and a little powdered - add to your taste level. Finally, I've also made it where I added chuncks of chicken breast. My only other advice - be sure the yogurt is PLAIN as the recipe calls for. I made this once and accidently had gotten vanilla...threw the whole flavor off! My husband rarely makes dinner requests, but he asks for this one at least once a month now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I thought it was ok. Mine turned out pretty dry and it had a really strong blue cheese flavor. I like blue cheese so I didnt mind that part. My husband did not like it though. It seemed kinda boring to me. I did not put the peppers in it though because we dont like them. Not sure if that had anything to do with it being boring. Definitely more of a side dish than a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Unlike everyone else, I could barely taste the blue cheese in this. I did add more cream like other reviewers suggested, so maybe that mellowed the flavor a bit. I LOVE blue cheese though, and was hoping for a really powerful taste. It was still good, but I was disappointed. I did add sauteed mushrooms and carmelized onions. Those were great. I think I will try this recipe again but with more blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States