Bleu Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm on the fence about this recipe. I love blue cheese so I was anxious to try it. However I do not like peppers and I prefer my macaroni baked. I subbed half an onion for the peppers and added a pinch of red pepper flakes for some heat. I ate two helpings of this for dinner and the second was better than the first. I really think it needs some cheddar to balance the flavor profile. I may make it again and tweak it more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Im only giving it a 4 star because my husband LOVED it, I liked it but I wouldnt make it again. I thought it had too much blue cheese, and I could taste the yogurt. May be better with cheddar instead of yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Surprisingly good. I wasn't sure how well the bell peppers would complement the blue cheese flavor, but I used Orange and Yellow Bells instead of Green and Red, and they provided a subtle accent to the sauce and a nice contrasting crunch. I hedged and only used 1/2 cup blue, and 1 cup of the Kraft Four-Cheese Italian blend, but as a blue cheese fan, I could see upping the blue to at least 3/4c of the 1.5 total. I also added a cup of cream, rather than 3/4c. I think I might try adding broccoli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
A local restaurant used to serve a Bleu Cheese Macaroni and they recently stopped so I went searching for a replacement. This is amazing! Their version had bacon and apples, so I made it that way, omitting the add-ins in this recipe. Simple added 3-4 slices of crumbled bacon and about a half of a diced granny smith or other firm/slightly tart apple after removing from the heat. The heat of the dish "cooks" the apple just enough. It is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
FANTASTIC! We thought this recipe was great as written, but even better with 1/8 tsp of cayenne and 1/2 tsp of smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was good. Like other reviewers I scaled back the blue cheese to a half cup and instead of plain parmesan cheese I used a 5 cheese Italian blend. Very intersting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timwsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is a VERY interesting mac and cheese version NOT for everyone. However, if you are a blue cheese lover, then this is for you! The taste is unique and gourmet and yet easy to make. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrsolyaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
If you like bleu cheese you will LOVE this recipe! This mac n cheese is BETTER than any I've had at restaurants. I add more cream to make it creamier. But other than that... it's PERFECT! Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a delicious spin on mac and cheese. I used penne pasta as opposed to elbows and I also added additional cream to loosen up the cheese sauce. Great recipe! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yummy! A real keeper! Made the following modifications: omitted the salt and pepper during the cooking process; put 1/2 each of a red and green bell pepper in the food processor and finely chopped; increased the cream to 1 and 1/4 cups; decreased the amount of flour to 1/4 cup; used 1/2 cup of blue cheese, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, and 1/2 cup of shredded swiss cheese. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States