Bleu Cheese Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I made this recipe as written, scaled down for 4 servings. My husband and I liked it a lot as it is, but didn't get as much of a bleu cheese kick as we both desired. Next time I will let it marinate longer and possibly reduce the mayonaise and sour cream. It's really good as it is though! We'll definitely keep it in the book for future yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Halved the recipe, and it turned out pretty well. I was a little concerned that since the mayo, sour cream, and blue cheese were equal quantities, the blue cheese might dominate the flavor, but it doesn't. You certainly can taste it, but all flavors complement each other well. Nice change from the basic mayonnaise-based slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This really didn't go over well. It was disappointing because we like Blue cheese. My husband said his taste buds were confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I served this with buffalo chicken sandwiches. We actually ended up putting the slaw on the sandwich as it just helped to round out the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delicious salad! I stayed pretty much to the recipe although I reduced the sour cream to about 1/4 cup as others had suggested. I also added 1/2 chopped apple (I used Honeycrisp) and about 1/3 cup roasted salted sunflower seeds. Everybody loved this salad and it's a recipe thats a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is a very tasty slaw but you really need to like bleu cheese to enjoy it. I followed the recipe as written but went a little heavy on the cheese since I really like it. I don't think the sour cream adds much to the flavor, in fact I think it reduces the tang of the bleu cheese. Next time I will cut back or eliminate that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Followed the directions with the exception of the onion. I let this sit overnight to gain the full flavor. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was awesome. I decreased the amount of the vinegar mixture and added extra blue cheese and some seasonings. Other than that, I followed the instructions and it was a total hit; twice!! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Used way less vinegar and sour cream, added lemon juice and green onion. Suppose you could say that I combined recipes from this site... :) LOVED IT!!!!, will definitely make again. Honestly, the best "doctored" cole slaw I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I love bleu cheese, but this wasn't a crowd pleaser for us. I would consider using it as a slaw on a burger, but not again as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huxtacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States