Bleu Cheese Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I didn't change anything - Normally I make coleslaw a day or two in advance but I wouldn't suggest that for this one unless you are looking for a VERY strong blue cheese taste. It was great a few hours after making it - the next day it was strong (ok for me but maybe not for others!). Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is was a great jumping off point for me. I would have never thought to use bleu cheese. However, since you got my creative juices flowing I added 2 chopped apples with skin on, 1 cup crushed walnuts and 1 3/4 cup plump craisins and fresh cracked pepper. It was yummy! It was a huge hit at a recent pot luck and everyone was asking for the recipe. Definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I felt this coleslaw was a bit overpowering with the bleu cheese. The longer it sat the stronger it got too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is a very tasty slaw but you really need to like bleu cheese to enjoy it. I followed the recipe as written but went a little heavy on the cheese since I really like it. I don't think the sour cream adds much to the flavor, in fact I think it reduces the tang of the bleu cheese. Next time I will cut back or eliminate that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was pretty tasty, but i was hoping for something more similar to the slaw served at J.Alexanders. This is good base, but I will keep trying!UPDATE: I think it would make a difference if you use a highquality blue cheese... all my store had was Treasure Cave, which is mild. Also, next day my cole slaw was not at all runny, I think the key is really draining it well of the cider mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Halved the recipe, and it turned out pretty well. I was a little concerned that since the mayo, sour cream, and blue cheese were equal quantities, the blue cheese might dominate the flavor, but it doesn't. You certainly can taste it, but all flavors complement each other well. Nice change from the basic mayonnaise-based slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Followed the directions with the exception of the onion. I let this sit overnight to gain the full flavor. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was awesome. I decreased the amount of the vinegar mixture and added extra blue cheese and some seasonings. Other than that, I followed the instructions and it was a total hit; twice!! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
WOW! I've never had a better coleslaw in my life! I added a few more bleu cheese crumbles since I'm a bleu cheese fanatic. This recipe will be made all throughout the summer. It was a hit at our company picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delicious salad! I stayed pretty much to the recipe although I reduced the sour cream to about 1/4 cup as others had suggested. I also added 1/2 chopped apple (I used Honeycrisp) and about 1/3 cup roasted salted sunflower seeds. Everybody loved this salad and it's a recipe thats a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States