Blender Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
really runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I made it for Valentines Day, some grittiness, but more disappointing was that it didn't gel, it is soupy. My first recipe that disappointed me from this site after years of using it. Wondering if I can re work it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalanamama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Phenomenal recipe - do not trust the bad reviews, a real chef would know how to put together such a wonderful recipe. GREAT consistency. My exact steps, dump whole bag of chocolate chips (semi sweet) in blender, add just under a half cup of sugar, crack one egg in and blend on high speed for 30 seconds. in the mean time, i replaced milk with 35% whipping cream and heated on the stove in a pot (medium eat) constantly stirring till a boil. crack second egg and repeat 30 second blending process, and third egg, after all eggs are blended in - pour in the (now rising/boiling whipping cream) and blend one more time for another 30-45 seconds. pour in to your little serving cups and there you have it, let cool in fridge for ATLEAST 2 hours before serving, although i let it cool for 16-20 hours (becomes much nicer and settled by this time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
So here is the deal with this specific recipe of mousse, you NEED to use heavy whipping cream in place of the milk for the mousse to set. I have not heard of using milk in a mousse recipe and so I did not even attempt to try. I also use a food processor instead of the blender because I found that you get that creamy texture quicker and easier. Instead of rum I have used Bailey's or Kahlua, so good! I mix the mousse pour it into martini glasses and place in the fridge. It is ready in about 4 hours. For those who have said this is too rich of a dessert and didn't like it, THAT is what chocolate mousse is! A very rich and decadent dessert. This particular one is not as light and fluffy as I like, therefore the 4 stars. However, it is really yummy and so easy. I have made it for 2 dinner party's and it was enjoyed by all! Hopefully this will help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Read the reviews and see the inconsistent results people get with it setting up. I used 2T rum extract for the alcohol, and after several hours had to move it to the freezer. Good, rich taste, but babysitting in the freezer to get it to set is why I give it 1 star. Too many people are having the same problem with it being runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Having read the reviews I decided to heat the milk first, add the chocolate and blend. After tasting, this was already sweet enough so I omitted the sugar all together. Then added 4 eggs, not 3 and Amaretto (as someone suggested). Turned out well for a quick mousse and set within 2 hours. If I make this again, I will try adding half milk/half cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I used Bailey's instead of brandy. It's not as fluffy as a mousse but it's delicious and a small amount is plenty! I served it in American Girl flower pots with a silk daisy stuck in each pot. I served a piece of scotch shortbread on the side. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
it was way too sweet, not enough for the flavor to be recognized. the mixture went gooey and chilling it or refrigerating it wasnt enough. i had to put it in the freezer for it to stay firm. but, it was way better with whipped cream! promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixxotrophic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very disappointing. This was not light and fluffy at all. In fact, it was more like a runny pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I could never get it to set. After 24 hours in the fridge, we wound up just freezing it into popsicles. Tasted good, reminiscent of pudding pops (remember those?) but definitely wasn't chocolate mouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States