Blender Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Just a comment for the person who says the raw egg is a health hazard: chocolate mousse, among other desserts, has been made with raw eggs for a long time. And by the way, a raw egg that is cooked is no longer a raw egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Its true! This is a rich very decadent dessert! I love it. My family loves it. And its definitely fine restaurant quality mousse. For extra richness, you could even replace the milk with heavy cream. Don't worry about the raw eggs, they cook in the milk since its heated to 165 degrees! If its too sweet, simply cut the extra sugar and just go with the sugar in the choc chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Although, I haven't tried this particular recipe I am familiar with a similar one. The one I use is 1 bag of chocolate, 1 egg, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 1 cup boiling hot milk. EXCELLENT! By the way, the addition of hot milk to the egg, cooks it, thus making it safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I'm used to mousse being a little lighter than this, so I think I'll do what another reviewer said and whip the egg whites separately. I also halved the recipe and didn't have any semi-sweet chocolate chips on hand, so I subbed 1 c. cocoa mixed w/5 T. melted shortening. I also used Mexican vanilla in place of the brandy, and the taste was phenomenal. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
After reading the reviews, I cut back on the sugar, it was still waaaay to sweet. Plus, it didn't even have the consistency of mousse, it was watery. A waist of ingredients. How can someone publish such a rotton recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
So here is the deal with this specific recipe of mousse, you NEED to use heavy whipping cream in place of the milk for the mousse to set. I have not heard of using milk in a mousse recipe and so I did not even attempt to try. I also use a food processor instead of the blender because I found that you get that creamy texture quicker and easier. Instead of rum I have used Bailey's or Kahlua, so good! I mix the mousse pour it into martini glasses and place in the fridge. It is ready in about 4 hours. For those who have said this is too rich of a dessert and didn't like it, THAT is what chocolate mousse is! A very rich and decadent dessert. This particular one is not as light and fluffy as I like, therefore the 4 stars. However, it is really yummy and so easy. I have made it for 2 dinner party's and it was enjoyed by all! Hopefully this will help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This is the easiest mousse I've ever made and it tastes just like the restaurants, not some pudding knock off. I use amaretto instead of brandy for personal preference and it's always a huge hit. I love to serve with rasberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I made this again (after my first disaster with it - very gritty) and this time I literally brought the milk to a boil ...it worked much better and the chocolte melted as it was supposed to. It was a pretty good mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
WOW! I made this for my boyfriend and it was great! I added about two cups of melted marshmallows to the mix and it was great! It was easy to make and clean up! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblahblah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Having read the reviews I decided to heat the milk first, add the chocolate and blend. After tasting, this was already sweet enough so I omitted the sugar all together. Then added 4 eggs, not 3 and Amaretto (as someone suggested). Turned out well for a quick mousse and set within 2 hours. If I make this again, I will try adding half milk/half cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States