Blender Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I made it, and we didn't have a whole cup of milk, so I used half (vitamin D) milk and half whipping cream, and it came out fantastic, very thick and rich! Next time I'll use less of the sugar. Oh, and the brandy isn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I scaled this down for two and followed the recipe as closely as I could. The flavor was pretty good, but it just didn't set very well. It was still liquidy even after 2 hours in the fridge. Did I miss something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
It is a very easy and tasty dessert however you must use milk with fat in it for it to set...also you can't 'bump up' the brandy because the extra alcohol won't allow it to set either. Learned both of these the hard way and wound up chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This recipe was good -- but I would say it is more like halfway between mousse and pudding. I used vanilla extract instead of brandy and half nonfat milk and half 'half and half.' I also cut the sugar in half. It wasnt grainy at all, but I did boil the milk after reading the reviews. Some little pieces of the chocolate didnt melt, but that was really yummy. I may make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
After reading the reviews, I cut back on the sugar, it was still waaaay to sweet. Plus, it didn't even have the consistency of mousse, it was watery. A waist of ingredients. How can someone publish such a rotton recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Its true! This is a rich very decadent dessert! I love it. My family loves it. And its definitely fine restaurant quality mousse. For extra richness, you could even replace the milk with heavy cream. Don't worry about the raw eggs, they cook in the milk since its heated to 165 degrees! If its too sweet, simply cut the extra sugar and just go with the sugar in the choc chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Although, I haven't tried this particular recipe I am familiar with a similar one. The one I use is 1 bag of chocolate, 1 egg, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 1 cup boiling hot milk. EXCELLENT! By the way, the addition of hot milk to the egg, cooks it, thus making it safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Janet, this was a really good recipe! after reading the reviews I was worried that it might be too sweet or grainy but it was excellent! We loved it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloversville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This recipe is way to sweet and didn't turn out very well. I won't make it again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Mousse came out much too sweet and grainy. Very disappointing and a waste of good chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States