Blazing Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I did not use the fatback nor the shortening. (I have a non-stick roasting pan). This is a LOT of garlic. The sweet potatoes did not taste that great after roasting with the meat and went uneaten - they were very salty, from the bacon I'm assuming. We didn't care for the dipping sauce. As someone else mentioned, a creamy horseradish sauce would probably work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made this along with a Turkey for Thanksgiving this year. I put about 2 cups of BBQ sauce the last 2 hours as it was cooking. It was the most tender meat that I have ever tasted. Everyone asked for the recipe and it will definitely be part of our Holidays to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Wow, this recipe turned out amazing! The meat was very tender and flavorful. I also did not use the extra fatback because the brisket I bought already had a good layer of fat on it. My sweet potatoes turned out extremely salty, but I think that was due to the use of sea salt (even though I only used 1/8 cup). Also, I ended up only needing 1lb. of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This was ok. It wasn't nearly as flavorful as I expected it to be, and the garlic flavor just seems to disappear. I added one onion, cut into eight pieces along with the sweet potatos and left off the fatback and reduced the butter by half. It is still quite heavy on the grease. Thanks for the recipe to try, but this one probably won't be one we make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Absolutley a Keeper. As previous reviews suggested, I eliminated the shortening and fatback. Used 1 stick of butter to saute the garlic. The meat was very tender. The sweet potatoes were great. Added some fennel bulbs the last hour.You won't be disappointed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I've made crockpot variations of this a couple times now. With some modifications, this is -delicious- and not swimming in fat. I cut the salt by 2/3 and used a fraction of the fat--no fatback, no shortening, no olive oil and only 2 tbsp butter for the garlic--and a smoked ham hock instead of the bacon. Fabulous! I also add 3-4 lbs of cut up vegetables about two hours before its done. Carrots and potatoes, usually, but fennel, chestnuts, and winter squash are good, too. The addition of vegetables might require more salt and possibly a little extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Maybe it was the meat from Sams Club, or maybe it was that I didnt use the fatback (whatever that is) or I didnt marinate all night just most of the day. This was tough...I counldnt cut it. The flavor was good, and it smelled good while it cooked. I might try this with a roast...maybe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
This brisket is the best I have ever had. My family loved it as much as I did! I have to admit, though, I was very skeptical about marinating the meat in coffee, and the amount of the spices, but the final outcome is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
the brisket tasted great.I followed the recipe and think the fat back is not needed and the dipping sauce was not that good. A creamy horseradish sauce for prime rib would be better.Doubble the sweet potato everyone raved about the flavor the marinade gave them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was the MOST flavorful, tender brisket we've ever tasted. Do not be detered by the amount of garlic...the first hour or so in the oven it will make your eyes water...but it cooks down to a wonderful, mellow flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States