Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This is a great recipe that can be on the table in 10-15 mins. I put the Cajun seasoning in a ziploc bag, put in the fish, and shake to distribute evenly. I halve the recipe because there are just two of us, so I cook uncovered in a small frying pan. It may be because there are small "tuna medallions" and not larger "tuna steaks" where I live, but I have found 6 minutes is too much cooking time. I like my tuna to have a pink stripe in the middle so it is not too dry, so I sear closer to 2 mins a side. The recipe does get smoky, so turn off your smoke detector and turn on your oven fan if you do it inside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Great recipe. You can also make on the gas grill by using a black iron skillet. Heat the skillet on medium heat for 15 minutes. Half the butter/oil and pour a small amount in skillet. Season tuna steak and put in skillet. Smoke will be intense when you first put steaks in skillet. Pour rest of butter/oil on steaks then turn. Cook for same amount of time as original recipe calls for. Steaks will be nice and blackened. I also use this recipe for swordfish. Very delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
This is so easy, and tastes great! I followed another reviewer's advice, and used Emeril's seasoning, served with rice pilaf and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
AWESOME recipe! My Boyfriend and I like it rare, so we simply seared it on each side to leave it rare in the middle. Scrumptous! I served it with a side of slow cooked onions and pasta with fresh tomato. We are making tuna tacos with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
It was pretty good, but I think it could have used more complex flavoring. It could have been the type of cajun seasoning I used. Would try it again but would modify it by making my own seasoning mix instead of using a store bought cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
This recipe is fabulous. It is the best way to eat ahi tuna steaks. It works great the next day on a salad with a little bit of toasted almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
It was fantastic and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This was so quick and easy and tasted delicious!! DH and I both enjoyed this fish and will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
takes a little longer to blacken than i thought but easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I am licking my fork as I type!!! I could give this 10 stars! I, too, used an electiec skillet (I didn't use the cover) and the tuna turned out just right. It was moist and full of flavor. I wouldn't change anything about the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States