Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
This is a great recipe, and I will make it again. I used the Cajun Seasoning recipe available on this website, and it turned out great. The only warning I have is that it will make your kitchen very smokey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was my first attempt at making any kind of fish and it turned out beautifully. I was a little stingy on the cajun seasoning because I wasn't sure how the fish would absorb it. But it tasted great and I'll add a little more next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This is super easy, super tasty and makes my kitchen smell like the Caribbean! I tend to undercook the tuna just a little in order to keep the flavour. And it takes about 10 minutes complete.. the 20 minute estimate is very generous. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Overall, I liked this recipe and will try it again. (I would give it three and a half stars if we had that choice.) Our steaks turned our quite dry and that may be because they were fairly large or I should have cooked them more slowly. My wife loved it and would give it at least a four star rating. I do love tuna and thought about, for the next time, cubing the steaks into 1 inch squares and sautéing them in the mixture for a bit to make up for the extra dryness that comes with cutting up a piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My whole family loves this recipe, even my very picky 9 yr. old. Like others, I sprinkle the steaks with Emeril's Bayou Blast seasoning (or a mix from a Paul Prudhomme recipe for greater heat). I always grill on a HOT cast iron skillet outside so as not to be overcome by smoke. I don't use olive oil, just butter. Quick, easy, healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I am a working mom and this is fast, healthy and delicious. Skip the butter. Serve with a box of red or black beans and rice with a bag o salad. Voila. Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACALK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This was excellent but it did take a lot longer to cook then directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This was so simple and yet so good. I had to cook much longer, we like our fish cooked through. We used the leftovers for tuna salad which was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I thought this was fabulous. And I have never had tuna steaks before. I even used the cheapo Tone's cajun spice and it was plenty hot. I did make this on the grill using a cast iron skillet and it worked great. It tasted just as good the next two meals. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Very Good! It had a nice flavor and the leftover was cut into chuncks and put into a salad. The key was the heat of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States