Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
My friend and I just got back from San Diego with our fresh catch of Yellow Fin Tuna. I was eager to try a new recipe. I made this tonight for my wife and I. It was unbelievable. If you want your wife to stop talking this is not the recipe to use. Five Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kramer3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Man, this was good. VERY spicy, but good. Fancy restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I love this recipe! After it went over so well the first time, I started using this blackening spice mixture on everything from shrimp, to chicken, to swordfish steaks. I mixed up all the spices and keep in my cabinet so it is handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I have to preface my review by revealing that I didn't do this with tuna. Tuna is best served rare to medium-rare and I don't/can't do "raw," plain and simple. So I used tilapia, which is perfect for blackening because the filets are so thin. (Truth be told, however, I'm not crazy about tilapia either - it tastes muddy to me, like a bottom feeder) Mango salsa is relatively new to me - I have never liked sweet mixed with savory. But I'm liking it lately, and this salsa, this dish, was simply first rate. I used my own blackening seasoning, one that is tried and true for me, important since blackening/Cajun seasonings can vary so much. I made no changes to the salsa and it was perfect - as good as I've had at any fine seafood restaurant in SW Florida. I am finding, however, that the jalapenos from my garden have a LOT more heat in them than those I buy at the grocery store so beware if you use homegrown! I served this with "Cilantro-Lime Rice," also from this site, and they belonged together. This was a beautiful and delicious dish, nice for the two of us, but certainly company worthy as well. Nicely done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made this recipe for a group of 5 friends. It turned out INCREDIBLE!!! You really can't go wrong with this recipe. It is the perfect balance of flavors, spicy and sweet. The tuna can be cooked very rare or well done (cook at hotter temp and shorter time for very rare and blackened/crisp outside!). Delicious, I plan to share this recipe with many friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Huge hit. Omitted the jalepeno pepper as I can't stand hot things. My 4yr old kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Used the recipe for Chilean Sea Bass....worked wonderfully! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I just bought mango salsa, wasn't in the mood to make it but the recipe came together very well, I was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handy Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Made this for family. It turned out excellent. I also cut the cayenne by 1/2 but left everything else. Will use this recipe again. Served with cilantro lime rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Just finished (seriously-dishes still sitting on the table). CRAZY good!! New favorite-hands down. It is spicy-which is great for me since I always add extra spice. This was perfect! Only change-added some pineapple in w/mango. Thought is would be a good combo and it worked beautifully. Thanks so much for a great recipe. One of the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristymiss

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States