Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was just as good as a restaurant dish. I cut down on the Cayenne as suggested by others. Next time I will cut down the cooking time, as I like mine still swimming. Thanks for the help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Lawn Gnome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This recipe was amazing! I cut the cayenne to 1 teaspoon and next time I will use less salt. I also made a topping of sour creme, fresh lime and cilantro to finish it off. The pan frying technique worked perfectly. The steaks were slightly pink in the center - just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
We reduced the heat, and made a few other alterations to the spices. We always add sugar to our rubs. With our rub recipe I would give it 5 stars. With the heat, I would have never been able to eat it. We left it just a bit raw in the center. It was amazing! I could not believe that all of our children loved it. We also love the yogurt topping from a fish taco recipe by Breese823. The combination of the Mango Salsa and the Yogurt Sauce is to be savored! We tried this recipe with Black-tip shark and it was too salty; the only changed we made was reducing the cayenne to 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
this recipe was really good. to offset the overall spicyness of the fish, I added a little blue agave sweetener to the salsa (I also upped the lime juice, mostly because I like limes). I also basted the fish with a little more blue agave & fresh lime juice. The fish is really complemented well by the mango salsa (so should definitely be eaten together!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Phenomenal, restaurant quality dish. For the salsa, I used a couple tablespoons red onion in place of the green and white onion and added half an avocado (would highly recommend!). We only seared the tuna for about 2 - 2 1/2 minutes per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
The mixture of flavors was amazing. The sweet of the mango and heat of the peppers with the blackened tuna went together well. This recipe is one I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
WOW...This recipe is spot on!!! Will definately make this again...and again..and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was great! I did 1/2 the cayenne pepper, and broiled the fish rather than pan-frying it, but other than that followed the recipe to a T. I have also done it (on a separate occasion) with ilapia because the store didn't have any good tuna and it was delicious as well! Big crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
OMG:) Worlds greatest recipe, you dont have to change a thing, perfect as written!! Super easie to make and so amazing people will think you are a chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
i followed the recipes as is and it was really good. i really liked the mango salsa with it. would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roper
Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States