Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I am not a fish eater, but it was suggested I try tuna steaks. This was my first time eating them and they were delish. Thank you for the recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I halved the heat in the recipe and it was still a little too spicy. The salsa is delish and paired nicely with the spiciness of the steaks. Thank you for giving me another option as I attempt to add more fish into my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Make the salsa a few hours ahead of serving time, if possible, so that the salsa flavors meld. Next time i make this, the cooking time for the fish will be reduced to only a minute or so, with the skillet nice and hot, that will be plenty of time to sear, without cooking, the fish. I served with fried plantain and had a cool, delicious, satisfying meal. Perfect for warm summer evening, wine, and good company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYJEANS11
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Bought some Ahi Tuna at my Farmers Market which was on sale and I found this recipe and when for it! I follow exactly, expect the mango salsa. Tuna was so tender and divine! The mango salsa was very good but was missing something, maybe salt and I add a peach since I just at 3/4 of the mango. I will do this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYJEANS11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is my go-to "look like a professional chef" recipe! Not only is it probably one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten, but the presentation is so beautiful. I make the "blackened" part pretty spicy, but it's easy to tone down - especially when I'm scarfing it down while my husband is sweating and sniffing from the heat! ;) One of the best recipes I've found on this site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
We couldn't find tuna steak so we substituted for swordfish. Still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ouelletteda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
The thing I love so much about this website is getting ideas and customizing them to fit your needs. I did marinate the tuna for 3 hours, but rather than make mango salsa I purchased it from Giant. I also used a pre-made Cajun blackening spice, but boy did this come out great! I realize it may have been even better with the homemade salsa and rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Brogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have made this so many times using different fish as well as tuna. This is also my go-to mango salsa recipe even if I don't blacken the fish and/or serve the salsa with another meat. We love it! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I didn't make the salsa at all and didn't have basil used chili powder instead of the paprika & cayenne and holy yum, this was good! Oh, I also forgot to rinse off the marinade before cooking, but I really loved the lime flavor so I think that was a good thing for me. My husband loved this as well. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I cheated I used a bottle of apricot Mango chipotle. Did everything else the same. Lot's less work and expense for me. I sliced some fresh avacados coz there in season. Was a fancy looking dish and looked like I spent a lot of time in the kitchen. Healthy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcie Numan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States