Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and could not have been more pleased with the results. The rub for the tuna and the salsa had the perfect amount of heat, and the mango made for a terrific and interesting contrast. This dish had so much flavor that we kept the sides very simple - steamed broccoli and brown rice...what a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I usually don't like cooked tuna (sashimi is the best) but I like this recipe. mango salsa is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tomkins Cove, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Really enjoyed this recipe. Very easy to follow the directions. Thank you! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was delicious but I would make a few changes if I decided to make it again. The salsa was very heavily flavored like cilantro, which I don't care for, even though I added a fresh minced habanero because we love spicy food. So I would cut that in half unless you're a big cilantro fan. Also, depending on the thickness of your tuna steaks, a 3 minute saute time might not be a good idea. I had 1 and 1/4 inch steaks I would estimate and they were definitely on the medium well side after the three minutes on one side and a minute on the other. I prefer my fish midrare to medium, if of good quality of course, so next time I will cut that long saute time in half (doing 90 seconds per). That being said, the dish was a huge hit with my fiance and we made chicken on the grill outside later in the week and topped it with the leftover salsa, greatly impressing our other guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Aulwes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Turned out great. The only changed I made was that I used a regular onion instead on Spanish and that I cooked the steaks a minute longer on each side bc I do not like my tuna so pink. I served with citrus rice and my husband was really impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. It was better than the Ahi tuna we paid 29 dollars for at a fancy dinner. I followed the directions exactly and it came out great. Tips: It does get smoky, so air out your kitchen, Cut the mango really small, it makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Absolutely delicious recipe that I made for a Valentine's Day Meal. I served it with a vegetable rosti and it went really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Flannery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luton, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Derby, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This gets 5 stars for presentation (it was pretty) and 3.5 or 4 for flavor. The blackening seasoning was nice, but very similar to the Creole Seasoning Blend on this site. The Creole Seasoning is just a tad different, but I prefer that mixture. The mango salsa was alright, but it didn't blow me away. My husband seemed to enjoy it, though. I might make it again for him if he makes the request. I followed the recipe as written, except I skipped the cilantro because I don't like cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Yum! Such a delicious blackened tuna recipe! Very spicy- will probably reduce the cayenne next time- we love spice, but with the mango salsa with jalepeno, it got to be a little much. I would add a dollop of sour cream next time, to cut the spice a bit but not sacrifice the flavor. New favorite blackening recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I grilled this for a barbecue and followed the recipe exactly. I made sure to finely chop all of the salsa ingredients. My entire family loved it! The mango was so good and offset the zing you get from the cayenne. Even the guests that weren't typically big seafood eaters went after this dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States