Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Delicious although a bit spicy for our taste. Next time I will cut back the cayenne some. This time we just chipped off the blackened spice rub. Did not do the blackened tuna but instead stole the carmelized onions from a different tuna recipe. Mixed 2.5 medium onions, half a head of cabbage, and 2 banana peppers and sauteed them for like 40 minutes in a bit of butter with a dash of salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
excellent mango salsa. Didn't use the jalapeno this time, but a little garlic instead of the green onion. Also some chopped nectarine. Very similar to a fancy restaurant near here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I did not make the salso, but the marinade, spices and cooking instructions were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was delicious! The only change I made was 1/2 the cayenne and 1/2 the jalapeno. It was still spicy. My husband said it was one of the best meals I ever made and that's huge compliment from him. I'll be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This recipe was simple and amazingly delicious! I never made salsa before and it was the best I ever had. Recipe rivals higher level restaurants. Husband who is not a "fish lover" flipped. Cannot wait to make it again. Great job AcadiaBoi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blskny

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I'm not sure if we messed up in some way, but my boyfriend and I really didn't like the flavor. Way too much cayenne flavor. I love spicy food, but I couldn't even finish my steak. Perhaps we didn't blacken it enough... though, our tuna seemed overdone. Not sure where we went wrong. Either way, did not care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I reduced the spice of the cayenne to 1 teaspoon- which was spicy enough and we like it spicy. This is so good restaurant quality for sure. I loved the sweetness of the mango with the savory tuna. The cooking time was perfect for a rare center. The only thing I'll do different next time is not cook it in my non stick skillet. I didn't get a good blackened sear. Thanks for sharing. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
A lot of work, but this recipe is definitely worth it. I cut down on the cayenne and it was still spicy. Used yellowfin ahi tuna steaks. Cooked exactly 3 minutes per side, which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I made this last night for my boyfriend and I's anniversary dinner and we both loved it. Here are a few adjustments that I did: 1. I used both a tuna steak and a tuna medallion. They were both probably about an inch thick so they had to cook much longer than the suggested time in the recipe. 2. I used more lime juice and less garlic and olive oil in the marinade. 3. Spices are expensive and you often only use them once or twice so instead of going out and buying the ones I didn't have I just made due with what was in my cabinent (I only used salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and thyme)...the rub was still AMAZING. 4. Also, to make the mango salsa requires pricey produce and believe it or not, most grocery stores will carry pre-made mango salsa so I bought that instead! 5. I recommend rice as a side dish. It goes really well the grill taste of the tuna as well as the sweetness of the salsa. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is amazing! The tuna comes out, depending on thickness, with a red center and a crisp outside. Yum! The mango salsa is delicious. I used only salt and pepper on one of the tuna steaks for my 6 year old daughter and she devoured it! I think it had more to do with the salsa, honestly, she loved the fruit ( I added a small amount of pineapple and strawberry, mmmm...) This recipe will be used again and again in our house. THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States