Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This an AMAZING tasting and EASY recipe! Great for the summer time and goes well with just a neutral white rice to help absorb some of the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
The rub is fantastic! My husband loves off-the-scale hot food and actually didn't add pepper flakes to this dish! He said it was perfect. I can handle pretty hot food, but this was a bit too close to my limit. I will probably cut down on the cayenne a little next time and let my husband add some pepper flakes to his! The salsa is wonderful!! The mango/cilantro combined with the rub was a very happy marriage. My only critique (and the reason I am giving this four stars) is that I found 3 mins on each side was far too long to cook the (2 inch) tuna steaks. The resulting steak was grey and dry with only a hint of pale pink in the centre. It was my first time cooking Ahi Tuna, so I followed the recommended time closely. Next time I will cut the cooking time down significantly. The rub blackened properly way before the 3 mins, so the shorter cooking time wouldn't affect the great blackened appearance/taste. I will be making this again, and would use this rub and the salsa for other dishes. Both would be great with chicken and shrimp too. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Ok, had to rate this recipe when my husband told me this was the best meal I had ever made for him(we've been married 20 years) Then I almost fell in the floor when my 3 incredibly picky children ate every bite and asked for more. It was delicious and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
We usually go a little lighter on the blackening spices for less heat. But pretty much a regular dish in our house now! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I would give it more stars if i could. It was AWESOME with the mango sauce. LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Absolutely outstanding. It made my fiance, an avid non-lover of seafood, a fan. Excellent combination of spices. The salsa was also outstanding; I added a tiny bit of salt to bring out the flavor of the mango. All in all, one of the best recipes I have gotten off this site. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charles Town, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I'm not a big mango person, but I LOVE this mango salsa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
best ever. I have been using this spice reciepe on many things, did it it tuna, Chicken breast and even hamburgers & T-bones. Thank you soooooo much. I love it & so does my Husband & brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith Helen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
The salsa is fabulous and the seasoning is pretty hot, but a winner in our household! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Tastes great on the grill!!!!! If you do decide to grill, take the1 1/2 tsp olive oil that should go in the pan and mix into the dry rub-it will spread over the fish and stick to it better. This is one of my favorite recipes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States