Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Tried this the other day. Excellent flavor. The spice in the tuna was equally paired with the salsa. Will make again. My dad who likes spice and hates as he calls it "raw meat"said that this was delicious and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kindigdm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I am not a fish eater, but it was suggested I try tuna steaks. This was my first time eating them and they were delish. Thank you for the recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I halved the heat in the recipe and it was still a little too spicy. The salsa is delish and paired nicely with the spiciness of the steaks. Thank you for giving me another option as I attempt to add more fish into my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Make the salsa a few hours ahead of serving time, if possible, so that the salsa flavors meld. Next time i make this, the cooking time for the fish will be reduced to only a minute or so, with the skillet nice and hot, that will be plenty of time to sear, without cooking, the fish. I served with fried plantain and had a cool, delicious, satisfying meal. Perfect for warm summer evening, wine, and good company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYJEANS11
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Bought some Ahi Tuna at my Farmers Market which was on sale and I found this recipe and when for it! I follow exactly, expect the mango salsa. Tuna was so tender and divine! The mango salsa was very good but was missing something, maybe salt and I add a peach since I just at 3/4 of the mango. I will do this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYJEANS11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is my go-to "look like a professional chef" recipe! Not only is it probably one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten, but the presentation is so beautiful. I make the "blackened" part pretty spicy, but it's easy to tone down - especially when I'm scarfing it down while my husband is sweating and sniffing from the heat! ;) One of the best recipes I've found on this site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
We couldn't find tuna steak so we substituted for swordfish. Still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ouelletteda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
The thing I love so much about this website is getting ideas and customizing them to fit your needs. I did marinate the tuna for 3 hours, but rather than make mango salsa I purchased it from Giant. I also used a pre-made Cajun blackening spice, but boy did this come out great! I realize it may have been even better with the homemade salsa and rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Brogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have made this so many times using different fish as well as tuna. This is also my go-to mango salsa recipe even if I don't blacken the fish and/or serve the salsa with another meat. We love it! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I didn't make the salsa at all and didn't have basil used chili powder instead of the paprika & cayenne and holy yum, this was good! Oh, I also forgot to rinse off the marinade before cooking, but I really loved the lime flavor so I think that was a good thing for me. My husband loved this as well. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States