Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Yum! Such a delicious blackened tuna recipe! Very spicy- will probably reduce the cayenne next time- we love spice, but with the mango salsa with jalepeno, it got to be a little much. I would add a dollop of sour cream next time, to cut the spice a bit but not sacrifice the flavor. New favorite blackening recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I grilled this for a barbecue and followed the recipe exactly. I made sure to finely chop all of the salsa ingredients. My entire family loved it! The mango was so good and offset the zing you get from the cayenne. Even the guests that weren't typically big seafood eaters went after this dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
The blackening spice is excellent. I used about half the cayenne so it wasn't so spicy. I mix up the seasonings and keep it in my spice cupboard for salmon and other fish. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe is amazing. My husband cannot get enough. I usually make more salsa than the recipe calls for just to have it around, plus I tend to add more mango because we really like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
We LOVE this recipe and have done it twice, so far! Second time my husband grilled tuna- even better! I added a roasted chopped hatch chili (mild) to the salsa 'cause they are in season,(we in Texas). Served with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This recipe is SO GOOD! Instead of using tuna I used boneless chicken breasts. The flavors were wonderful and definitely not too spicy. Even my ten year old picky son ate two pieces of chicken and asked for more!!! Additionally, my husband who is not into fruit with meat, loved this particular salsa! I served it with brown rice which my husband mixed the leftover rice and salsa together for a snack the next day! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liana
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Husband was very impressed as I had never attempted tuna steaks before and they came out great. They steaks came out med-rare which was perfect for us. There was just enough salsa for the two of us, so if making for more than two, I would double the salsa. Next time I will reduce the spice mixture as I threw a lot away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana
Photo by hoveyfox
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is my all-time favorite recipe. First of all, the seasoning is AMAZING. I use this every time I sear tuna. Second of all, the salsa is AMAZING and a perfect compliment to the tuna. If you buy store bought mango salsa, you are missing out. DOUBLE the salsa because you will want extra. Third of all, 3 minutes on each side will make two inch thick tuna come out medium. I cook my sushi-grade tuna for one and a half minutes on each side. I usually serve this with corn and rice. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Loved it! I cooked the Tuna Steaks a little less. I will definitely make this again. Thanks AcadiaBoi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Wonderful! I know I'm not a big fan of lime marinades or sweet sauces, so I marinated the tuna steak in olive oil and garlic briefly before following the rest of the recipe and then made guacamole to top it (from the top recipe on this site) and it was amazing. If you like spice without sweet, then make it this way. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States