Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Fantastic. I have to admit I did cut down on the red pepper for milder tastes in our house and I purchased mango chutney from the Indian food section of our grocery but the Tuna and rub are really wonderful and cooked perfectly at 3 minutes per side. Not over cooked nor too rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Simply Delicious! It was the first time I tried Tuna Steak and loved it. I did not have a Mango so used a Mango Barbeque Sauce and the salsa turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Excellent! The spices are just right- not too hot and definitely not bland. The mango salsa is really good too! Will be making this again. I cooked my tuna to 140 degrees, which is considered overcooked by most but was perfect for me. Still a light pink in the very center but mostly gray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I must admit I was leary about using frozen fish but that was the only choice I had. The tuna taste surpased my expectations. The recipe is easy to follow and makes for a truly spectacular feast. Chopping the salsa is a bit time consuming, so next time I may use a food processor. Other than that, fantastic recipe. Thank you so much for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and could not have been more pleased with the results. The rub for the tuna and the salsa had the perfect amount of heat, and the mango made for a terrific and interesting contrast. This dish had so much flavor that we kept the sides very simple - steamed broccoli and brown rice...what a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I usually don't like cooked tuna (sashimi is the best) but I like this recipe. mango salsa is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tomkins Cove, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Really enjoyed this recipe. Very easy to follow the directions. Thank you! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was delicious but I would make a few changes if I decided to make it again. The salsa was very heavily flavored like cilantro, which I don't care for, even though I added a fresh minced habanero because we love spicy food. So I would cut that in half unless you're a big cilantro fan. Also, depending on the thickness of your tuna steaks, a 3 minute saute time might not be a good idea. I had 1 and 1/4 inch steaks I would estimate and they were definitely on the medium well side after the three minutes on one side and a minute on the other. I prefer my fish midrare to medium, if of good quality of course, so next time I will cut that long saute time in half (doing 90 seconds per). That being said, the dish was a huge hit with my fiance and we made chicken on the grill outside later in the week and topped it with the leftover salsa, greatly impressing our other guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Turned out great. The only changed I made was that I used a regular onion instead on Spanish and that I cooked the steaks a minute longer on each side bc I do not like my tuna so pink. I served with citrus rice and my husband was really impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. It was better than the Ahi tuna we paid 29 dollars for at a fancy dinner. I followed the directions exactly and it came out great. Tips: It does get smoky, so air out your kitchen, Cut the mango really small, it makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States