Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Very good, and very spicy! We will make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I think the "recipe" for the secret hobo spices was actually the ingredient label from a bottle of Astor Cajun Seasoning! (Just kidding!) But it is the exact same ingredients in case someone wants to make this and not buy all the spices. In their recipe though, they dip the fillets in melted butter, coat with the seasoning, and blacken in a hot iron skillet (without the oil or white bread). Either way it's very good. I served mine over a bed of brown rice made with chicken stock instead of water and added sautaed onions & mushrooms and frozen green peas. When served together it balances out the spiceness of the cajun seasonings perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
best fish recipe I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
My favorite tilapia recipe. Next time I'll cut down the paprika to 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was delicious and very easy to make. We added a little bit of lemon onto the fish while it was cooking and served it over a bed of rice with steamed broccoli. the fish is spicy, but it's not too spicy with the rice to go with it. I did decrease the paprica by 1/3, per recommendations of other reviews and it was perfect. It is a little salty, still, so you may want to adjust the salt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was very easy and had great zing to the flavor. I've made it 3 times and my kids, husband and I just love it. I do it in a cast iron fry pan which gives it a real blackend crisp taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
A keeper! The paparika made it too hot & hid the other flavors, so I'll use less next time. Also reduced the salt. There's plenty of powder to coat, so use liberally. There's no leftover juice, so bread is out. Served over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is an awsome recipe. My daughter (teenager) asks for it often. I have even used the spices for chicken and cooked it the same way. It's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Very very yummy! I cut back on the cayenne pepper and it was still pretty spicy. I didn't use the bread and opted for brown rice instead. Still very good. This a restaurant quality talipa recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! My boyfriend said this might be his favorite fish ever! Apparently his best friend got a hold of the leftovers, because he told me the next day that the fish I made "was money". I served this on whole wheat hamburger buns with lettuce, tomato, red onion and wasabi mayo. I cut the paprika in half as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States