Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I think the "recipe" for the secret hobo spices was actually the ingredient label from a bottle of Astor Cajun Seasoning! (Just kidding!) But it is the exact same ingredients in case someone wants to make this and not buy all the spices. In their recipe though, they dip the fillets in melted butter, coat with the seasoning, and blacken in a hot iron skillet (without the oil or white bread). Either way it's very good. I served mine over a bed of brown rice made with chicken stock instead of water and added sautaed onions & mushrooms and frozen green peas. When served together it balances out the spiceness of the cajun seasonings perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
385 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Hmmm... and why were you picking the pockets of a sleeping hobo? That's sinking a little low, don'tcha think? If you roll him again, tell him we enjoyed his recipe. Didn't use the bread as I'm gluten intolerant, but the fish was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
You can actually buy blackening seasons (Prudhomme, sp?) is what we use...and we follow the directions on the bottle...We serve on a Keiser roll with the seasoned mayo (1/2 c sour cream, 1/2 c Mayo, 1 TBS chopped fresh cilantro, 1 tsp, fresh lemon juice, 1/2 tsp blackening season) which is something we just experimented with, and lettuce...of course the kids think it's best w/ fries and cole slaw...but I concede...I like the Tilapia on a nice bed of greens!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walela

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I really liked this recipe. It was super easy & a quick fix for a mid-week meal. And just as an FYI... Emril's Essence has many of the same spices listed here~ using that saves alot of time & money. It was a little bit salty - but still delicious. I served mine with a black bean salad. Thanks Hobo, for your secret spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was delicious and very easy to make. We added a little bit of lemon onto the fish while it was cooking and served it over a bed of rice with steamed broccoli. the fish is spicy, but it's not too spicy with the rice to go with it. I did decrease the paprica by 1/3, per recommendations of other reviews and it was perfect. It is a little salty, still, so you may want to adjust the salt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This recipe is very similar to the famous one created by Chef Paul Prudhomme of New Orleans. I have made this with fresh Grouper many times and always used butter inplace of oil.Serve with a side dish of Cajun Potato Salad. Warning!!! Cook outside because of the INTENSE Smoke that it creates.Otherwise this is a GOOD Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
My favorite tilapia recipe. Next time I'll cut down the paprika to 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
My only question is "What were you doing looking through the pockets of a hobo?"...I'm sure there is more to the story, we'd like to hear it. Anyway, this is pretty good. Spicy of course but what would one expect a "blackened" fish to taste like? I didn't get a lot of juices from the pan to pour over the fish. I tried it over bread and rice and I liked it over white rice better. You can taste a lot of paprika, I might adjust that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Make sure you salt to taste. I added the full amount and it was horribly salty. My husband and I agreed it was a great recipe minus the saltiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie 'Wilken' Epp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Very tasty! It was a little to spicy for my husband's taste but I loved it! There wasn't any juice in the pan so after the fish was done I deglazed the pan with some with wine and a little butter. MMMMMMM......... I had a lot of spice mix left over, enough to fill up an empty spice jar so next time I'm already prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States