Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe. It's quick and tasty. I didn't have thyme so I used Marjoram. I'm not very much of a fish eater but, this was full of flavor and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was a great recipe!! superfast and super easy. All the spieces made for a really delicious flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNBKLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
very good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
best fish recipe I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
My favorite tilapia recipe. Next time I'll cut down the paprika to 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Well, this definitly deserves 4 stars. I didn't use the bread. This is the first time I blackened anything and I must say I was impressed. Don't be afraid to add all the spices when sprinkling the fish it makes the crust that much nicer. I might like to pair this up with a fruit salsa. Thanks for the recipe, a keeper!..>PS WHY WERE YOU IN A HOBO'S POCKET ON THE RAILROAD TRACKS??!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
While I generally love blackened fish and meats, I really did not care for this dish at all. This is my first disappointment with a high-rated recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Cute story behind it, however the recipe isn't so good. I only used a 1/4 tsp. cayenne and it was still too hot. I've had blacked fish before and liked it OK but this couldn't compare. As for the sauce, I didn't think one Tablespoon of oil was enough to have a remaining sauce so I added 1/2 T. more. (didn't want to up the calories too much). The pan was still dry when I finished. I bought white bread (only had whole wheat) just for this recipe because I like to follow recipes as close as possible. I really don't think this was needed. We ended up scraping off the crust and having fish sandwiches. Oh, well. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I cut down on the salt a little. Very spicey. A little to spicey for me, but my wife liked it. Don't know if I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Very good for a quick meal. We like spicy foods and this is spicier than most. Followed spice mixture exactly, but I did add a little more garlic powder as we love garlic. DH still felt something was "missing" from the ingredients? Used a cast iron skillet as that is usually the best pan to make blackened foods in. Served with a cheesy rice pilaf and green beans. I didn't use the bread...this recipe doesn't have any liquid in it except for the small amount of oil & a squeeze of lemon juice at the end so I didn't have any "juices" to be soaked up? as it stated. We may tweak it the next time with some other spices too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States