Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe. It's quick and tasty. I didn't have thyme so I used Marjoram. I'm not very much of a fish eater but, this was full of flavor and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was a great recipe!! superfast and super easy. All the spieces made for a really delicious flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNBKLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
very good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
best fish recipe I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
My favorite tilapia recipe. Next time I'll cut down the paprika to 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Well, this definitly deserves 4 stars. I didn't use the bread. This is the first time I blackened anything and I must say I was impressed. Don't be afraid to add all the spices when sprinkling the fish it makes the crust that much nicer. I might like to pair this up with a fruit salsa. Thanks for the recipe, a keeper!..>PS WHY WERE YOU IN A HOBO'S POCKET ON THE RAILROAD TRACKS??!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
While I generally love blackened fish and meats, I really did not care for this dish at all. This is my first disappointment with a high-rated recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Cute story behind it, however the recipe isn't so good. I only used a 1/4 tsp. cayenne and it was still too hot. I've had blacked fish before and liked it OK but this couldn't compare. As for the sauce, I didn't think one Tablespoon of oil was enough to have a remaining sauce so I added 1/2 T. more. (didn't want to up the calories too much). The pan was still dry when I finished. I bought white bread (only had whole wheat) just for this recipe because I like to follow recipes as close as possible. I really don't think this was needed. We ended up scraping off the crust and having fish sandwiches. Oh, well. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I cut down on the salt a little. Very spicey. A little to spicey for me, but my wife liked it. Don't know if I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Very good for a quick meal. We like spicy foods and this is spicier than most. Followed spice mixture exactly, but I did add a little more garlic powder as we love garlic. DH still felt something was "missing" from the ingredients? Used a cast iron skillet as that is usually the best pan to make blackened foods in. Served with a cheesy rice pilaf and green beans. I didn't use the bread...this recipe doesn't have any liquid in it except for the small amount of oil & a squeeze of lemon juice at the end so I didn't have any "juices" to be soaked up? as it stated. We may tweak it the next time with some other spices too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States