Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was EXCELLENT! We are not fish eaters and I was super nervous about cooking fish (I did salmon steaks years ago and it was awful hehe). We loved it and this recipe is a keeper! The spices really heat it up but just wonderfully flavorful, not to the point of pain. Will try it with a raspberry sauce next time, I think it will compliment the spices very nicely. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Wow! Fantastic! I loved the mixture of spices. Our family doesn't always care for super spicy things so I cut the cayenne in half and the temperature was just right for us. I also didn't have any fresh lemon so I left that off. Otherwise everything was the same as the recipe. Super easy and very quick to make. We are always looking for recipes for fish and this is a definite keeper. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
You will not be disappointed!!!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
My husband said that Hobos must be eating better than we thought they did! This recipe is tasty and flavorful. I didn't have all the seasonings on hand, so did a Jamaician curry powder and Old Bay seasoning along with the onion and garlic powder. Sprinkled lemon juice on while fish was blackening. Served over a garlic white bread spread with a bit of butter. Added garlic couscous, grean beans and organic apricot applesauce to complete the feast. It was a very nice meal! Thanks! Those Hobo spices aren't so secret after all! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My very first review EVER!! YAY! This came out perfect. I'm a Pastry Chef & my hubby does must of the cooking around here. With that being said, I was shocked when I tasted this! And after his first bite, my husband complimented me on this dish. WHAT??? (doesn't happen often with savory dishes). He even asked me if I used a recipe or how I came up with the seasoning. He then went on to say that it was cooked perfectly!! Will definitely make this again & again. Loved it. Just added it to my favorites. Thanx for the recipe & loved the story that went along with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tspoons

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Overall, a great blend for fish. Quite spicy, which doesn't bother me, but just a heads up in case you wish to tweak. I used walleye and skipped the bread... I'm not sure what juices it would soak up and it just didn't sound appealing to me. Served with a spinach-garden veggie salad. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
First recipe from here, and by far the best. This spice rub is great for any seafood, even shrimp. Avoid cayenne for any who dislike heat, but for those who do like heat double it. I remove excess grease with paper towel on the fish, and omit the white bread. Serve over rice, or couscous, with a steamed veggie medley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felonious Monk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Amazing! Will definitely be having it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
We had just had blackened tilapia at a restaurant and my husband asked me to make it at home. I followed this as written except I only had black pepper, and I didn't use the bread - didn't have any juice in the pan anyway. He loved it and said I should make all our fish this way. It was super easy and super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States