Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Wonderful seasoning. I add all these ingredients, minus the salt, to a small box of Zatarain's fish fry. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
How can a hobo without a kitchen create such a tasty recipe! I keep the spices mixed in advance. I like the spice combo so much, I add it to other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices' Haiku: "Smoky, spicy, yum! I love this recipe's name. Where's that hobo chef?" Couldn't help but chuckle at the recipe's name, and description, so just had to make this. The blackened seasoning raised my el-cheapo wimpy generic frozen tilapia filets to a whole new level. Only thing I couldn't bring myself to do was buy a loaf of white bread (we like honey wheat in deez parts) to try that out, and I guess I'm glad that I didn't b/c, well, there were no pan juices to speak of. Very dry, mega-smokey, and oil a-poppin', but wow, the fish was so awesome!! Thanks sleepy hobo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Just made this! Its wonderful so much flavor and really not that spicy it was just the right amount and it also gave a good crisp on the fish! I will deff be making again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This one needs some work. There was so much paprika that it completely overshadowed the other spices. Also, there were no pan juices. And I had so much spice mix left over that I could have made an entire second recipe. Kind of disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was a quick and easy way to make tilapia. I didn't measure the spices, but what we ended up with was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpacker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was an AMAZINGLY delicious recipe that I have used over and over again. My family and friends LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Good and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was really good, and very easy. I really liked it, but it was too spicy for my husband. I think next time I will cook a batch for me and some with no cayenne pepper for my husband. Also, I served it over brown rice instead of bread and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States